Appointments to Process Review Panel in relation to Regulation of Mandatory Provident Fund Intermediaries

     The Government announced in the Gazette today (April 12) appointments to the Process Review Panel in relation to the Regulation of Mandatory Provident Fund Intermediaries (PRP).

     The Chief Executive has appointed Ms Grace Yu Ho-wun and Mr Allen Lau Kai-hung as members of the PRP. The appointments will take effect from April 12, 2019, until March 31, 2021, both dates inclusive.

     Welcoming the appointments, the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr James Lau, said, "I trust the new appointees will utilise their sound professional knowledge and expertise and contribute to the work of the PRP.

     "Under the distinguished leadership of Dr Eddy Fong, the PRP has played a vital role in enhancing the regulatory regime for the protection of Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF) scheme members by reviewing the operations of the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority (MPFA) in relation to MPF intermediaries. I am confident that the PRP will continue to provide constructive and insightful suggestions to the MPFA with a view to continuously improving the effectiveness and enhancing the transparency of the regulatory regime for MPF intermediaries."

     Established in November 2013 following the commencement of the statutory regulatory regime for MPF intermediaries, the PRP is an independent panel tasked to review and advise the MPFA on the adequacy and consistency of its internal procedures and operational guidelines governing the actions taken and operational decisions made by the MPFA and its staff in the performance of its regulatory functions relating to the regulation of MPF intermediaries and associated matters.

     Following is the membership of the PRP with effect from April 12, 2019:

Dr Eddy Fong Ching

Miss Grace Chan Man-yee
Mr Chan Yim-kwong
Ms Agnes Choi Heung-kwan
Mr Eugene Fung Ting-sek, SC
Mr Hui Ching-yu
Mr Allen Lau Kai-hung
Mr James Lin
Ms Nicole Yuen Shuk-kam
Ms Grace Yu Ho-wun

Ex-officio members
Chairman of the MPFA
Secretary for Justice (or her representative)

Ends/Friday, April 12, 2019
Issued at HKT 12:00