Go to main content
Appointments to Advisory Council on Food and Environmental Hygiene announced
     ​The Government announced today (March 29) that the Chief Executive has re-appointed Professor Lo Yuk-lam as the Chairman of the Advisory Council on Food and Environmental Hygiene. At the same time, seven new members have been appointed and nine serving members have been re-appointed to the Council. All appointments will take effect from April 1, 2019, for a term of two years.
     Professor Lo, an expert in the field of biotechnology, has been serving on the Council as Chairman since 2015.
     Brief descriptions of the new members follow:
     Dr Chen Xueping is the Chief Technology Officer of an international biotechnology company. 
     Mr Cheung Ki-tang is an elected Kwun Tong District Councillor.
     Dr Chiu Man-ying is an Associate Professor in the Department of Biology, Hong Kong Baptist University.
     Ms Sandy Keung Yurk-nam is the founder and executive chef of two restaurants.
     Dr Lucy Shum Wan-cheong is the Chief Veterinarian of a veterinary services company.
     Dr So Tsz-him is a Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Clinical Oncology, University of Hong Kong.
     Professor Wong Man-sau is a Professor in the Department of Applied Biology and Chemical Technology, Hong Kong Polytechnic University. 
     The Secretary for Food and Health, Professor Sophia Chan, welcomed the re-appointments and new appointments. "In the past few years, the Council has provided valuable advice to the Government on a wide range of important issues including mosquito and rodent control measures, use of modern technologies in enhancing environmental hygiene, promotion of green burial and promotion of a reduced salt and sugar diet," she said.
     Professor Chan also expressed gratitude to the outgoing members, Dr Doris Au Wai-ting, Mr Abraham Chan Yu-ling, Mrs Vivien Chen Chou Mei-mei, Dr Chung Shan-shan, Ms Josephine Kea Chi-shun, Mrs Jenny Lam Wan Mei-fong and Professor Kenneth Leung Mei-yee, for their contributions to the work of the Council over the years.
     The Council is a non-statutory body established on April 1, 2000, to advise the Government on food and environmental hygiene issues. The Council comprises a Chairman, 16 non-official members and four ex-officio members.
     The membership of the Council with effect from April 1, 2019, is as follows:
Professor Lo Yuk-lam
Professor Felix Chan Hon-wai
Mr Chan Wai-ming
Dr Chen Xueping
Mr Cheung Ki-tang
Dr Chiu Man-ying
Professor Chiu Siu-wai
Ms Sandy Keung Yurk-nam
Mr Stephen Leung Kwok-keung
Professor Leo Poon Lit-man
Dr Lucy Shum Wan-cheong
Dr So Tsz-him
Mr Simon Tam Hop-sing
Mr Richard Tsang Lap-ki
Professor Wong Man-sau
Professor Wong Wing-tak
Professor Samuel Wong Yeung-shan
Ex-officio members
Secretary for Food and Health (with Permanent Secretary for Food and Health (Food) as her alternate)
Director of Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation
Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene
Director of Health
Ends/Friday, March 29, 2019
Issued at HKT 11:10
Today's Press Releases