Go to main content
Appointment of non-executive directors of SFC
     The Government announced today (March 6) that the Financial Secretary, Mr Paul Chan, under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, has appointed Mr Nicky Lo Kar-chun and Mr Clement Chan Kam-wing as non-executive directors (NEDs) of the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC). The two-year term of Mr Lo will begin on April 24, 2019, and that of Mr Chan will begin on May 26, 2019. Meanwhile, the NED term of Ms Mary Ma Xuezheng will end on April 23, 2019, and that of Mr Albert Au Siu-cheung will end on May 25, 2019.
     Mr Lo is the Director of Italade Technology Holdings Limited and Mr Chan is the Managing Director (Assurance) of BDO Limited. 
     Mr Chan said, "Mr Nicky Lo and Mr Clement Chan have a wealth of expertise and experience in corporate governance and financial services respectively. I am confident that they will provide invaluable contribution to the work of the SFC."
     He added, "I would also like to thank the outgoing non-executive directors, Ms Mary Ma and Mr Albert Au, for their active contribution to the work of the SFC over the past years. Their wise counsel has been conducive to enhancing the SFC's role as a regulator focused on market quality. I look forward to their continued support for the further development of the financial services industry in Hong Kong."
     The SFC is chaired by Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung. The other serving non-executive directors are Ms Agnes Chan Sui-kuen, Mr Edward Cheng Wai-sun, Mr Lester Garson Huang, Mr James C Lin and Dr William Wong Ming-fung.
Ends/Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Issued at HKT 17:00
Today's Press Releases