Go to main content
Appointments to Council for Sustainable Development announced
     The Government today (February 21) announced appointments to the Council for Sustainable Development for a new two-year term starting from March 1, 2019.

     "The Council membership represents a mix of stakeholders from different sectors of the community including the environmental, social services and business sectors. We will continue to work closely with the Council in promoting sustainable development in Hong Kong," a government spokesman said.

     The Council advises the Government on priority areas for promoting sustainable development that will integrate environmental, social and economic perspectives. It also seeks to encourage community participation and promote public awareness and understanding of the principles of sustainable development.

     The Council has implemented a number of stakeholder-led engagement processes to engage the community in active discussion of sustainability issues. The Council is also responsible for vetting applications for the Sustainable Development Fund to support community projects aimed at raising public awareness of sustainable development.

     The five new members are Ms Vanessa Cheung Tih-lin, Miss Natalie Chung Sum-yue, Mr Tam Kent-chung, Dr Rita Yu Man-sze and Dr William Yu Yuen-ping. Ms Vanessa Cheung Tih-lin is the Managing Director of Nan Fung Development Limited; Miss Natalie Chung Sum-yue is a student at the Chinese University of Hong Kong; Mr Tam Kent-chung is a trainee solicitor; Dr Rita Yu Man-sze is the Strategy and Sustainability Manager of Siemens Limited; and Dr William Yu Yuen-ping is the Chief Executive Officer of the World Green Organisation. Miss Natalie Chung Sum-yue and Mr Tam Kent-chung are appointed through the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth. 

     The membership for the new term is as follows:

Professor Arthur Li Kwok-cheung

Professor John Chai Yat-chiu
Dr Bunny Chan Chung-bun
Ms Chan Shin-kwan
Ms Vanessa Cheung Tih-lin#
Mr Chu Hoi-shan
Miss Natalie Chung Sum-yue#
Professor Laurence Ho Hoi-ming
Ms Angelina Kwan
Mr Kwok Lit-tung
Mr Alkin Kwong Ching-wai
Mrs Sandra Mak Wong Siu-chun
Miss Samanta Pong Sum-yee
Mr Tam Kent-chung#
Mr Cliff Tang Wing-chun
Professor Jonathan Wong Woon-chung
Dr Thomas Yau Chung-cheung
Mr Eric Yeung Chuen-sing
Dr Rita Yu Man-sze#
Dr William Yu Yuen-ping#
Secretary for Development*
Secretary for the Environment*
Secretary for Home Affairs*
Secretary for Transport and Housing*

# new member
* or Permanent Secretary
Ends/Thursday, February 21, 2019
Issued at HKT 15:00
Today's Press Releases