Appointments to Advisory Committee of the Partnership Fund for the Disadvantaged announced

     The Government today (February 1) announced the appointment of six new members and the re-appointment of eight incumbent members to the Advisory Committee of the Partnership Fund for the Disadvantaged for a term of two years with effect from today.

     The six new members are Mr Karson Choi Ka-tsan, Ms Anthea Lee Shuk-wai, Ms Lee Yuen-sum, Mr Lun Chi-wai, Mr Ngan Chun and Mr Tam Kin-lok.

     Mr Karson Choi Ka-tsan is the Vice Chairman of Early Light International (Holdings) Limited.

     Ms Anthea Lee Shuk-wai is the Deputy Chief Executive of the Society of Rehabilitation and Crime Prevention, Hong Kong.

     Ms Lee Yuen-sum is the Assistant Director (Elderly and Youth) of Yang Memorial Methodist Social Service.

     Mr Lun Chi-wai is the Service Supervisor of Caritas HUGS Centre.

     Mr Ngan Chun is a teacher of Fung Kai No. 1 Primary School.

     Mr Tam Kin-lok is the Project Manager of Good Lab Foundation Limited.

     Eight incumbent members, namely Professor Alice Chong Ming-lin, Mr Raymond Lai Kwan-ho, Mr Allen Lau Kai-hung, Ms Irene Leung Shuk-yee, Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai, Ms Malina Ngai Man-lin, Mr Justin Wai and Ms Yim Chor-pik, have been re-appointed.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Dr Law Chi-kwong, said that the appointed and re-appointed members come from the social welfare sector, the business community and academia, including two young people appointed through the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth. He said he looked forward to the Advisory Committee's wise counsel on the development of the Fund and the promotion of cross-sectoral collaboration in Hong Kong. He also thanked the four outgoing members, Ms Jasmine Chan Hoi-yan, Dr Raymond Lee Man-chun, Ms Angelique Tam Chi-wah and Ms May Wong May-kwan, for their support and contribution to the Fund.

     The Government set up the Partnership Fund for the Disadvantaged in 2005 for promoting tripartite partnership among the welfare community, the business sector and the Government to help the disadvantaged. The Advisory Committee, chaired by the Director of Social Welfare, examines applications for the Fund and advises on matters relating to its operation.

     The Government provides matching grants with regard to the donations made by business partners to support welfare non-governmental organisations in running social welfare projects. To date the Government has injected a total of $1.2 billion. Apart from a commitment of $800 million for the Regular Portion of the Fund to help the disadvantaged, a total of $400 million has been earmarked as the Dedicated Portion. Since its launch in 2015, the Dedicated Portion has been actively promoting the "Citizens-Business-Government-School" collaboration to implement more after-school learning and support programmes for primary and secondary school students from grass-roots families to facilitate their whole-person development.

     The membership list of non-official members of the Advisory Committee with effect from today is as follows:

Mr Karson Choi Ka-tsan
Professor Alice Chong Ming-lin
Mr Raymond Lai Kwan-ho
Mr Allen Lau Kai-hung
Ms Anthea Lee Shuk-wai
Ms Lee Yuen-sum
Ms Irene Leung Shuk-yee
Mr Lun Chi-wai
Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai
Ms Malina Ngai Man-lin
Mr Ngan Chun*
Mr Tam Kin-lok*
Mr Justin Wai
Ms Yim Chor-pik

* Appointed through the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth.

Ends/Friday, February 1, 2019
Issued at HKT 12:00