Appointments to Board of Financial Services Development Council

     The Government announced today (January 17) appointments to the Board of Directors of the incorporated Financial Services Development Council (FSDC) for a term of two years from January 17, 2019 to January 16, 2021.
     Further to the appointment of Mr Laurence Li Lu-jen as Chairman of the Board of Directors upon the incorporation of the FSDC as a company limited by guarantee, the Chief Executive has appointed 14 members to the Board of the incorporated FSDC, including 12 serving members of the FSDC. The Board will oversee the operation of the incorporated FSDC with effect from January 17, 2019. 
     Announcing the appointments, the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr James Lau, said, "The appointees are all seasoned practitioners and broadly representative of major sectors of the financial services industry. I am confident that the Board will direct the incorporated FSDC to further step up its efforts in conducting research, promoting market development, and nurturing talent with increased resources and operational flexibility."
     Mr Lau also expressed his heartfelt gratitude to all outgoing members of the FSDC for their contributions to the work of the FSDC over the past years.
     The FSDC was established in 2013 by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government as a high-level, cross-sectoral advisory body to engage the industry in formulating proposals to promote the further development of Hong Kong's financial services industry and to map out the strategic direction for development. The FSDC has been incorporated as a company limited by guarantee with effect from September 2018 to allow it to better discharge its functions with more flexibility. 
     Following is the membership list of the Board of the incorporated FSDC with effect from January 17, 2019:
Mr Laurence Li Lu-jen   (appointed with effect from September 21, 2018)
Members (14)
Dr Au King-lun
Ms Diana Cesar*
Ms Bonnie Y Chan
Ms Lena Chan*
Mr Mark Dickens
Ms Ding Chen
Mr Henry Fan Hung-ling
Mr Glenn Fok
Dr Hu Zhanghong
Mr Brian Li Man-bun
Mr Joe Ngai
Mr Andrew Walter Bougourd Ross Weir
Mr Stephen Wong Yuen-shan
Ms Winnie Wong Chi-shun
Ex-officio member
Mr James Lau (in the capacity as Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury)
* new appointee

Ends/Thursday, January 17, 2019
Issued at HKT 11:00