Go to main content
Appointments to Social Welfare Advisory Committee announced
     The Government today (November 23) announced the appointment of Mr Lester Garson Huang as the new Chairman of the Social Welfare Advisory Committee (SWAC), as well as the appointment of six new members and re-appointment of five incumbent members to the SWAC for a term of two years with effect from December 1.

     The six new members are Dr Bai Xue, Miss Cheung Sze-wing, Mr Andy Ho Wing-cheong, Dr Lam James Joseph, Ms Eva Wong Ching-hung and Mr Anthony Wong Kin-wai.

     Mr Lester Garson Huang is the Partner and Co-Chairman of PC Woo & Co. He is also the Chairman of the Council of the City University of Hong Kong, the Chairman of the Standing Committee on Language Education and Research, a Non-Executive Director of the Securities and Futures Commission, an ex-officio member of the Education Commission and a member of the Public Service Commission.

     Dr Bai Xue is an Assistant Professor at Hong Kong Polytechnic University. She is also an Honorary Research Fellow of Sau Po Centre on Ageing of the University of Hong Kong.

     Miss Cheung Sze-wing is the Director of Best United Marketing Ltd. She is also a member of the Personalized Vehicle Registration Marks Vetting Committee and the Public Libraries Advisory Committee.

     Mr Andy Ho Wing-cheong is the Executive Director of the Hong Kong Federation of Youth Groups. He is also a non-official member of the Human Resources Planning Commission.

     Dr Lam James Joseph is the Director of the Centre for Orthopaedic Surgery. He is also a member of the Sports Commission and Vice Chairman of the Committee on Vocational Training for People with Disabilities of the Vocational Training Council. He was Vice-Chairman of the Rehabilitation Advisory Committee.

     Ms Eva Wong Ching-hung is the Co-founder of Wedo Global Ltd. She is also a non-official member of the Commission on Poverty and the Social Enterprise Advisory Committee.

     Mr Anthony Wong Kin-wai is the Business Director of the Hong Kong Council of Social Service. He is also a member of the Appeal Panel (Housing) and the Committee on Child Abuse of the Social Welfare Department as well as a non-official member of the Social Enterprise Advisory Committee.

     The five re-appointed incumbent members are Ms Sylvia Chan May-kuen, Dr Gary Cheng Faat-ting, Mr Manohar Thakurdas Chugh, Mr Anthony Kwan Wai-ming and Ms Amarantha Yip Yun-wan.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Dr Law Chi-kwong, welcomed the appointments. He said, "Mr Huang has rich experience in community service and I am confident that he will be able to lead the SWAC in providing valuable advice to the Government. I look forward to the members' sterling advice on the development of Hong Kong's social welfare policy."

     He also thanked the outgoing Chairman, Mr Vincent Lo Wing-sang, for his outstanding leadership in the past six years and the five outgoing members, Dr Crystal Cheng Lai-ling, Dr Roy Chung Chi-ping, Mr Laurence Ho Hoi-ming, Ms Christina Maisenne Lee and Mr Laurence Li Lu-jen, for their valuable contributions to the SWAC.

     The SWAC reviews social welfare services from time to time and advises the Government on all matters of social welfare policy.

     The membership list of the SWAC with effect from December 1, 2018 is as follows:

Mr Lester Garson Huang

Non-official members
Dr Bai Xue
Ms Sylvia Chan May-kuen
Dr Gary Cheng Faat-ting
Miss Cheung Sze-wing
Mr Manohar Thakurdas Chugh
Mr Andy Ho Wing-cheong
Mr Ip Wai-ming
Mr Anthony Kwan Wai-ming
Dr Lam James Joseph
Mr Armstrong Lee Hon-cheung
Ms Anthea Lo Wing-sze
Dr Annissa Lui Wai-ling
Dr Gary Ng Ka-wing
Mr Daryl Ng Win-kong
Professor Steven Ngai Sek-yum
Ms Cindy Pun Siu-fung
Dr Janice Tsang Wing-hang
Ms Eva Wong Ching-hung
Mr Anthony Wong Kin-wai
Dr Loretta Yam Yin-chun
Ms Amarantha Yip Yun-wan
Ends/Friday, November 23, 2018
Issued at HKT 12:00
Today's Press Releases