Go to main content
Appointment of lay members of HKICPA Council
     The Government announced today (November 16) the appointment of Ms Susie Ho Shuk-yee and Ms Theresa Ng Choi-yuk as lay members of the Council of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants (HKICPA) for a term of two years from December 1, 2018 to November 30, 2020.

     The Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr James Lau said, "The accountancy sector plays a pivotal role in Hong Kong's success as an international financial centre. We look forward to the contribution of Ms Ho and Ms Ng to the work of the HKICPA in regulating the accountancy profession and promoting its development."

     Mr Lau also expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing lay members, Ms Melissa Brown and Mr Tam Wing-pong, for their contribution and support rendered to the Council in the past six years.

     The HKICPA is the statutory licensing body for accountants in Hong Kong and currently has more than 42,000 members. It is responsible for the professional training, development and regulation of the accountancy profession. The HKICPA Council is the governing body of the Institute.

     Under the Professional Accountants Ordinance (Cap. 50), the HKICPA Council comprises a maximum of 23 persons, including four lay members appointed by the Chief Executive. The power of the Chief Executive to make appointments to the Council has been delegated to the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury. 

     The other two incumbent lay members are Mr Vincent Chui Yik-chiu and Mr Wilfred Wong Kam-pui.
Ends/Friday, November 16, 2018
Issued at HKT 16:00
Today's Press Releases