Fourth meeting of Joint Task Force on the Development of the HK-Shenzhen Innovation and Technology Park in the Loop held in Hong Kong (with photos)

     The Secretary for Innovation and Technology, Mr Nicholas W Yang, and the Vice Mayor of Shenzhen Municipality, Mr Ai Xuefeng, co-chaired the fourth meeting of the Joint Task Force on the Development of the Hong Kong-Shenzhen Innovation and Technology Park (the Park) in the Loop in Hong Kong today (November 12).
     At the meeting, the two sides discussed the progress and future work plan for the Hong Kong-Shenzhen Innovation and Technology Park Limited (HSITPL), as well as the works progress of supporting infrastructure in the Lok Ma Chau Loop and land disposal arrangements for the Park.
     Two task forces were set up under the Board of Directors of the HSITPL, overseeing the Master Planning Study and Business Model and Business Planning Study respectively. The two studies are expected to complete by the first half of 2019. Upon completion, the HSITPL will make reference to the findings and commence the next stage of work, such as finalising the master plan, conducting technical studies, formulating the business operation mechanism and promotion strategies.
     With regard to the supporting infrastructure works, the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD) has already commenced the contract for the construction of the Advance Works of the Loop this June, and the contract for the consultancy on detailed design and site investigation of Main Works Package 1 commenced in September this year. It is expected that the first batch of land parcels will be made available by 2021 or earlier for superstructure construction by the HSITPL.
     The meeting endorsed the preliminary land disposal arrangements of the Loop, i.e. to grant the land to the HSITPL to take forward the development of the Park. As a wholly owned subsidiary of the Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation (HKSTPC), the HSITPL will regularly report to the Board of Directors of the HKSTPC on the development direction, progress and financial position of the Park.
     Other officials of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government attending the meeting today included the Permanent Secretary for Innovation and Technology, Mr Cheuk Wing-hing; the Commissioner for Innovation and Technology, Ms Annie Choi; and representatives from the Development Bureau, the Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Bureau, the Education Bureau, the Commerce and Economic Development Bureau, the Innovation and Technology Commission, the Lands Department and the CEDD.

Ends/Monday, November 12, 2018
Issued at HKT 17:19