Go to main content
Appointments to Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Advisory Committee and Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Appeal Board
     The Government announced today (October 26) appointments to the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Advisory Committee (MPFSAC) and the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Appeal Board (MPFSAB).
     The Chief Executive, in exercise of her authority under the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Ordinance (MPFSO), has appointed Mr Ip Kwok-him as Chairman of the MPFSAC for a term of two years, from November 1, 2018 to October 31, 2020, both dates inclusive.
     At the same time, the Financial Secretary, in exercise of the authority under the MPFSO delegated to him by the Chief Executive, has reappointed Mr Stewart Wong Kai-ming, SC, as Chairman of the MPFSAB. He has also appointed three new members, namely Mr Chow Luen-kiu, Ms Tam Kam-lin and Ms Lily Wong, and an incumbent member, Ms Belinda Luk Kwai-sim, to the MPFSAB. All appointments will take effect from November 1, 2018 to October 31, 2020 for a term of two years, both dates inclusive.
     The Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr James Lau, welcomed the appointment of Mr Ip to the MPFSAC. "Mr Ip was a member of the Management Board of the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority (MPFA) between 2011 and 2017. He has a wealth of experience and expertise in the Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF) System. We believe that the MPFSAC, under his leadership, will offer valuable advice to the MPFA and contribute to the continuous improvement of the MPF System," he said.
     Welcoming the appointments to the MPFSAB, Mr Lau said, “The MPFSAB is made up of distinguished members from various sectors. I believe the MPFSAB will continue to uphold its impartiality under Mr Wong's chairmanship. I am also confident that the newly appointed and re-appointed members will contribute to the ongoing, effective operation of the MPFSAB.”
     He also thanked the outgoing MPFSAC Chairman, Mr Wong Ting-kwong, and the MPFSAB members, Mr Ng Chau-pei, Ms Ng Wai-yee and Mr Jeff Wong Kwan-kit, for their valuable contributions.
     The MPFSAC is a statutory body established under section 6R of the MPFSO, which advises the MPFA with respect to the operation of the MPFSO as well as the effectiveness and efficiency of the MPFA.
     Following is the membership list of the MPFSAC with effect from November 1, 2018 :
Mr Ip Kwok-him
Deputy Chairlady
Ms Alice Law Shing-mui
Mr Karson Choi Ka-tsan
Ms Chow Yuen-yee
Dr Roy Chung Chi-ping
Mr Lam Chun-sing
Mr Kenneth Leung Kai-cheong
Dr Pan Pey-chyou
Mr Philip Tsai Wing-chung
Ms Winnie Wong Chi-shun
     The MPFSAB is established in accordance with section 35 of the MPFSO to determine appeals against the decisions of the MPFA as specified in Schedule 6 to the MPFSO.
     The membership of the MPFSAB with effect from November 1, 2018 is as follows:
Mr Stewart Wong Kai-ming
Deputy Chairlady
Ms Giovanna Kwong Fung-ping
Mr Kenny Chan Ngai-sang
Mr Chow Luen-kiu
Mr Dennis Ho Chiu-ping
Ms Lau Yuk-kuen
Ms Cecilia Lee Sau-wai
Ms Belinda Luk Kwai-sim
Mr Gerry Ng Joo-yeow
Ms Miranda So Man-wah
Ms Tam Kam-lin
Ms Lily Wong
     The appointments and re-appointments were published in the Government Gazette today.
Ends/Friday, October 26, 2018
Issued at HKT 11:03
Today's Press Releases