Go to main content
Polling dates of 2019 Rural Ordinary Election gazetted
     The 2019 Rural Ordinary Election will be held in January next year. The respective polling dates for each Village and Market Town (Cheung Chau and Peng Chau) were published in the Gazette today (October 19).
     The Village Representative (including Indigenous Inhabitant Representative and Resident Representative) Election will be conducted on two consecutive Sundays on January 6 and 13, 2019, while the Kaifong Representative Election for Market Towns will be held on January 20, 2019 (Sunday).
     The nomination period will be from November 9 to 22, 2018.
     A polling notice, specifying the polling date, the address of the polling station and polling hours will be issued to each eligible elector at least 10 days before the polling day for the respective Village/Market Town.
     A government spokesman appealed to all eligible persons to participate in the election.
     The Rural Ordinary Election is arranged as stipulated in the Rural Representative Election Ordinance. At present, there are 709 villages with a total of 1 484 Village Representative seats, including 695 Resident Representative seats and 789 Indigenous Inhabitant Representative seats. In addition, there are 39 and 17 Kaifong Representative seats for the Market Towns of Cheung Chau and Peng Chau respectively.
     For enquiries, please call 2152 1521 or contact the respective New Territories District Office. The public can also visit the Rural Representative Election website (www.had.gov.hk/rre) for more information.
Ends/Friday, October 19, 2018
Issued at HKT 11:01
Today's Press Releases