Appointment to Process Review Panel for Securities and Futures Commission

     The Government announced today (October 19) that the Financial Secretary, under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, has appointed a new Chairman and six new members, as well as re-appointed four incumbent members of the Process Review Panel for the Securities and Futures Commission (PRP) for a term of two years from November 1, 2018 to October 31, 2020. 
     The new Chairman is Mr Lawrence Lee Kam-hung. The six new members are Mr Jeffrey Chan Lap-tak, Ms Dilys Chau Suet-fung, Ms Ivy Chua Suk-lin, Mr Vincent Chui Yik-chiu, Ms Margaret Kwan Wing-han and Mr Henry Lai Hin-wing. The four re-appointed members are Ms Ding Chen, Mr Chester Kwok Tun-ho, Mr Frederick Tsang Sui-cheong and Ms Nicole Yuen Shuk-kam.
     The Financial Secretary, Mr Paul Chan, said, "I am grateful for the time and effort that the Chairman and members of the PRP have devoted to review and advise the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) on the adequacy of its internal procedures and operational guidelines. I would like to express my gratitude in particular to Dr Moses Cheng Mo-chi for his exemplary leadership over the past six years, as well as the valuable advice and suggestions provided by him and other outgoing members, including Mr Clement Chan Kam-wing, Dr Hu Zhanghong, Ms Rosita Lee Pui-shan and Mr Robert Lee Wai-wang.
     "The PRP comprises veterans of the financial services industry and other professional areas. I am confident that under the leadership of the new Chairman, the PRP will continue to play its vital role of assisting the SFC to exercise its regulatory power in a fair and consistent manner."
     The PRP is an independent non-statutory panel established in November 2000 to review the operational procedures of the SFC and determine whether the SFC has followed its procedures in carrying out its work. This helps ensure that the SFC exercises its regulatory power in a fair and consistent manner. The membership comprises a good mix of knowledge, experience and expertise from relevant sectors.
     In addition to advising the SFC on its operational procedures, the PRP submits to the Financial Secretary and publishes annual reports on its review and its observations and recommendations made regarding the SFC's internal processes and procedures. 
     The membership of the PRP with effect from November 1, 2018 is as follows:


Mr Lawrence Lee Kam-hung

Mr Jeffrey Chan Lap-tak
Ms Lena Chan
Ms Dilys Chau Suet-fung
Ms Ivy Chua Suk-lin
Mr Vincent Chui Yik-chiu
Ms Ding Chen
Ms Margaret Kwan Wing-han
Mr Chester Kwok Tun-ho
Mr Henry Lai Hin-wing
Dr Billy Mak Sui-choi
Mr Frederick Tsang Sui-cheong
Ms Nicole Yuen Shuk-kam
Ex-officio Members

The Chairman of the SFC
The Secretary for Justice or her representative

Ends/Friday, October 19, 2018
Issued at HKT 17:00