Go to main content
Appointments to new term of Advisory Committee on Recycling Fund announced
     The Environment Bureau today (July 30) announced the appointments to the new term of the Advisory Committee on Recycling Fund. Mr Jimmy Kwok has been re-appointed as the Chairman of the Advisory Committee and 14 members will continue to serve on the Advisory Committee. In addition, four new members have been appointed to the Advisory Committee, namely Mr Roger Ho, Ms Kelly Wong, Dr Evelyn Lam and Mr Yip Man-pan.
     The appointments are for a term of three years starting August 1, 2018. The Hong Kong Productivity Council will continue to serve as the implementation partner and the secretariat of the Advisory Committee.
     The Secretary for the Environment, Mr Wong Kam-sing, thanked the Advisory Committee for the valuable advice and feedback on the operation of the Recycling Fund since its establishment in 2015, which help facilitate the upgrading of operational capabilities and efficiency of the recycling industry. He said he hopes that the Advisory Committee in its new term will continue to maintain close communication with the recycling industry and stakeholders to promote the effective operation and sustainable development of the recycling industry, so as to enhance waste recycling and reduce disposal at landfills.
     The Advisory Committee comprises experts, academics and people with experience in business management and community service, as well as representatives from various business and industry associations. Representatives of relevant government bureaux and departments including the Environmental Protection Department, the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department, the Labour Department, the Home Affairs Department and the Trade and Industry Department will also be invited to attend meetings for discussion as and when required.
     The membership of the new term of the Advisory Committee is as follows:
Mr Jimmy Kwok
Ms Carmen Chan
Mr Choi Kam-wah
Mr Roger Ho
Ms Jessica Jook
Dr Evelyn Lam
Professor Irene Lo
Professor Poon Chi-sun
Ms Kelly Wong
Mr Yeung Man-yui
Mr Yip Hing-kwok
Mr Yip Man-pan
Mr Edward Chan
(Representative of the Business Environment Council)
Mr Andrew Chan
(Representative of the Hong Kong Chinese Importers' & Exporters' Association)
Mr Chan Wing-hong
(Representative of the Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce)
Professor Daniel Cheng
(Representative of the Federation of Hong Kong Industries)
Mr Teddy Cheung
(Representative of the Hong Kong Association of Property Management Companies)
Mr Marvin Hsu
(Representative of the Chinese Manufacturers' Association of Hong Kong)
Dr Raymond Leung
(Representative of the Chinese General Chamber of Commerce)
     To facilitate the operation of the $1 billion Recycling Fund, the Environment Bureau established the Advisory Committee on Recycling Fund in August 2015 to advise and make recommendations to the Government on matters relating to the overall administration and operation of the Recycling Fund. The Advisory Committee has so far approved funding for 192 projects of which 151 projects are either started or about to start, involving a total funding of about $110 million.
Ends/Monday, July 30, 2018
Issued at HKT 11:30
Today's Press Releases