Go to main content
Outbound Travel Alert System extended to cover 88 countries and regions
     The coverage of the Outbound Travel Alert (OTA) System has today (July 27) been extended to include Kazakhstan, Mauritius and Mongolia, increasing the number of countries and regions covered by the System from 85 to 88. 

     A Security Bureau spokesperson said, "The Security Bureau regularly reviews the coverage of the OTA System. Following a recent review, the Security Bureau decided to extend the OTA System to Kazakhstan, Mauritius and Mongolia, which are increasingly popular as tourist and business destinations for Hong Kong residents. It brings the OTA coverage from 85 countries and regions to 88, providing Hong Kong residents with information on the outbound travel safety risks of more places."

     The spokesperson reminded Hong Kong residents to make reference to the Security Bureau's mobile app "Safeguard HK" and OTA webpage (www.sb.gov.hk/eng/ota/) before travel. Residents outside Hong Kong who need assistance may call the 24-hour hotline (852) 1868 of the Assistance to Hong Kong Residents Unit of the Immigration Department.
Ends/Friday, July 27, 2018
Issued at HKT 17:40
Today's Press Releases