Go to main content
Appointments to Energy Advisory Committee announced
     The Government today (July 13) announced that Mr Jimmy Kwok has been re-appointed as Chairman of the Energy Advisory Committee, while 19 community personalities have been appointed as members. The appointments are for a term of two years with effect from July 15, 2018 and will be published in the Gazette on July 20.

     The Secretary for the Environment, Mr Wong Kam-sing, thanked the Chairman and members for their valuable contributions to the work of the Committee. "Under the sterling leadership of Mr Jimmy Kwok, the Committee has tendered invaluable advice to the Government on important energy-related matters, in particular as we chart our way forward in combating climate change. Looking ahead, we will continue to work closely with the Committee on various energy policy matters, including further promotion of the development of renewable energy as well as energy efficiency and conservation in the community," he said.

     Mr Wong also expressed his gratitude to the 10 retiring members, Mr Victor Cheung Chi-kong, Ms Susanna Chiu Lai-kuen, Mr Andrew Fung Hau-chung, Mr Christopher Law Kin-chung, Mr Alfred Lee Tak-kong, Dr Guy Look, Dr Luk Bing-lam, Dr Billy Mak Sui-choi, Mr Stanley Wong Yuen-fai and Dr William Yu Yuen-ping, for their support and service in the past years, and welcomed 10 new members to the Committee, namely Dr Andrew Chan Chi-fai, Ms Natalie Chan, Dr Vincent Cheng Sai-yau, Dr Cheung Chi-wah, Ms Linda Ho Wai-ping, Mr Ellis Lau Ying-tung, Ms Ivy Lee Siu-wing, Ms Christina Tang Pik-han, Mr Conrad Wong Tin-cheung and Mr Ryan Yeung Shun-cheung.

     The Committee advises the Government on energy policy, including policy matters concerning energy supply and demand, energy conservation and efficiency, and other related matters.

     The full membership of the Committee is as follows:

* Mr Jimmy Kwok Chun-wah (Chairman)
  Professor Andrew Chan Chi-fai
* Ms Clara Chan Yuen-shan
  Ms Natalie Chan
  Dr Vincent Cheng Sai-yau
* Ms Vena Cheng Wei-yan
  Mr Cheung Chi-wah
* Professor Fung Tung
  Ms Linda Ho Wai-ping
* Mr Wilson Kwong Wing-tsuen
* Mr James Lam Yat-fung
  Mr Ellis Lau Ying-tung
  Ms Ivy Lee Siu-wing
* Ms Rerina Or Siu-ching
  Ms Christina Tang Pik-han
* Mr Cliff Tang Wing-chun
* Mr Luther Wong Lok-tak
  Mr Conrad Wong Tin-cheung
* Mr Thomas Jefferson Wu
  Mr Ryan Yeung Shun-cheung
* Permanent Secretary for the Environment/Director of Environmental Protection or representative
* Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services or representative

* serving members
Ends/Friday, July 13, 2018
Issued at HKT 16:30
Today's Press Releases