Go to main content
Appointment of non-executive directors of SFC
     The Government announced today (July 13) that the Financial Secretary, Mr Paul Chan, under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, has appointed Mr James C Lin and re-appointed Dr William Wong as non-executive directors of the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC). The appointments will take effect from August 1, 2018 for a term of two years.
     Mr Lin is a partner of an international law firm and Dr Wong is a Senior Counsel of Des Voeux Chambers. 
     Mr Chan said, "Mr Lin has a wealth of expertise and experience in corporate finance and capital markets. I am confident that he will provide invaluable contribution to the work of the SFC.
     "Dr Wong has provided valuable advice and guidance to the SFC during his tenure. I look forward to his continued support for the work of the SFC."
     "I would also like to thank the outgoing non-executive director, Ms Teresa Ko Yuk-yin, for her active contribution to the work of the SFC over the past six years. Her wise counsel has been conducive to enhancing the SFC's role as a regulator focused on market quality. I look forward to her continued support for the further development of the financial services sector in Hong Kong," he added.
     The SFC is chaired by Mr Carlson Tong. Other serving non-executive directors are Mr Albert Au Siu-cheung, Mr Edward Cheng Wai-sun, Mr Lester Garson Huang, Ms Mary Ma Xuezheng and Dr Kelvin Wong Tin-yau.
Ends/Friday, July 13, 2018
Issued at HKT 17:00
Today's Press Releases