Go to main content
Appointment of Financial Services Development Council Chairman
     The Government announced today (July 6) the appointment of the Chairman of the Financial Services Development Council (FSDC).
     The Chief Executive has appointed Mr Laurence Li Lu-jen as Chairman of the FSDC from July 11, 2018 to January 16, 2019, and for a term of two years as Chairman of the Board of Directors upon the incorporation of FSDC as a company limited by guarantee. 
     Mr Li will succeed the incumbent FSDC Chairman, Mrs Laura M Cha, who will retire from the FSDC with effect from July 11, 2018. 
     Announcing the appointment, the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr James Lau, said, "Mr Li possesses strong expertise in the financial services industry. He has profound understanding of the objectives and operation of the FSDC, and has made remarkable contributions to the work of the FSDC since its establishment. I am confident that Mr Li will lead the FSDC to continue to carry out its mission in promoting the further development of Hong Kong’s financial services industry."

     Mr Lau also expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing Chairman Mrs Cha for her years of dedicated service and outstanding leadership in steering the FSDC to work towards the goal of enhancing the competitiveness of Hong Kong as an international financial centre.

     The FSDC was established in 2013 by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government as a high-level, cross-sectoral advisory body to engage the industry in formulating proposals to promote the further development of Hong Kong’s financial services industry and to map out the strategic direction for development. The FSDC has set up five committees, namely the Policy Research Committee; the Mainland Opportunities Committee; the New Business Committee; the Market Development Committee and the Human Capital Committee.
Ends/Friday, July 6, 2018
Issued at HKT 15:00
Today's Press Releases