Go to main content
CE commends teachers for teaching excellence
The following is issued on behalf of the Chief Executive's Award for Teaching Excellence Steering Committee:
     The Chief Executive, Mrs Carrie Lam, today (July 6) presented the Award for Teaching Excellence to 12 teachers at the Award Presentation Ceremony of the Chief Executive's Award for Teaching Excellence (CEATE) (2017/2018) held at the Central Government Offices. The Secretary for Education, Mr Kevin Yeung, presented the Certificate of Merit to 26 teachers.
     Speaking at the ceremony, the Chairman of the CEATE Steering Committee, Mr Duffy Wong, said, "The awarded teachers are very innovative and they have made strenuous efforts in designing various learning activities to enrich students' learning experience, which successfully stimulated their motivation to learn and enhanced learning and teaching efficiency. The awardees deserve commendation for their exemplary teaching practices."
     Mr Wong said that the awarded teachers would join the Chief Executive's Award for Teaching Excellence Teachers' Association to move to the next phase of development. He said he believed that they would meet more dedicated teachers through this platform for exchanges and support. Their sharing of exemplary teaching practices would inspire co-workers in the education sector to further raise the standards of learning and teaching.
     This year's CEATE covered three themes, namely "Kindergarten Education", "Physical Education Key Learning Area" and "Technology Education Key Learning Area". Assessment of nominations for the CEATE focused on four domains of assessment, namely professional competence, student development, professionalism and commitment to the community, and school development. A total of 93 nominations were received. Five nominations (comprising 12 teachers) were presented with the Award for Teaching Excellence while 12 nominations (comprising 26 teachers) were presented with the Certificate of Merit. The assessment results are available on the CEATE website (www.ate.gov.hk).

     Officiating guests at today's ceremony also included the Permanent Secretary for Education, Mrs Ingrid Yeung; the Chairman of the Quality Education Fund Steering Committee, Dr Gordon Tsui; the Chairman of the Education Commission, Mr Tim Lui; the Chairman of the Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals and Chairman of the High-level Advisory Panel of CEATE (2017/2018), Dr Carrie Willis; the Chairman of the Curriculum Development Council, Professor Tam Kar-yan; the Chairman of the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority, Mr Rock Chen; and the Chairman of the CEATE Assessment Working Group (2017/2018), Professor Horace Ip.
     Sharing activities on excellent teaching practices of the CEATE (2017/2018) will be rolled out in the coming school year. Details will be announced on the CEATE website shortly.
     Nominations for the CEATE (2018/2019) will be accepted from July 9 to October 5. Its themes will cover "English Language Education Key Learning Area", "General Studies" and "Personal, Social and Humanities Education Key Learning Area". Details will be uploaded to the CEATE website on July 9.
Ends/Friday, July 6, 2018
Issued at HKT 15:46
Today's Press Releases