Appointments to Chief Executive's Council of Advisers on Innovation and Strategic Development

     The Government announced today (March 21) the establishment of the Chief Executive's Council of Advisers on Innovation and Strategic Development and appointment of 36 non-official members and four ex-officio members to the Council.

     The Council is a high-level body to advise the Chief Executive on Hong Kong's future development and strategies for driving innovation. It will give advice on Hong Kong's strategic positioning in the global and regional contexts and directions of economic development with an aim of enhancing Hong Kong's competitiveness and growth potential, provide guidance on evidence-based research and studies on related issues with a view to enhancing policy formulation to meet changing development needs, and advise on stakeholder engagement and public participation in the policy formulation and consensus building process.

     The Council will replace the existing Economic Development Commission and the now defunct Commission on Strategic Development, both of which used to be chaired by the Chief Executive. The Economic Development Commission established in the previous term of the Government has been disbanded.

     Welcoming the advisers on board, the Chief Executive, Mrs Carrie Lam, said, "I am most grateful that so many community leaders, who have busy schedules of their own, have agreed to serve on the Council. This commitment reflects their passion for and confidence in Hong Kong. I look forward to working closely with them in shaping the future of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.  

     "I would like to take this opportunity to thank all members of the Economic Development Commission for their efforts and contributions in the past."

     The first term of the Council will take effect immediately and end on June 30, 2020. 

     A Government spokesman said, "In the face of keen global competition, the Government must be forward-looking and maintain a strategic perspective in our drive to maintain and enhance Hong Kong's competitive edge. The setting up of a high-level council of advisers was announced by the Chief Executive in her inaugural Policy Address delivered on October 11, 2017."

     The Policy Innovation and Co-ordination Office to be formally established on April 1 will provide secretariat services and research support to the work of the Council. 
     The membership of the Council is as follows:

Chief Executive
Non-official Members
Professor John Chai Yat-chiu
Mr Bernard Charnwut Chan
Professor Daniel Cheng Man-chung
Mr Edward Cheng Wai-sun
Dr Jonathan Choi Koon-shum
Mr Henry Fan Hung-ling
Dr Fu Yuning
Dr Victor Fung Kwok-king
Mr Stuart Thomson Gulliver
Mr Benjamin Hung Pi-cheng
Mr Jimmy Lai Chi-ming
Mr Lau Ming-wai
Dr Donald Li Kwok-tung
Mr Brian David Li Man-bun
Mr Victor Li Tzar-kuoi
Professor Frederick Ma Si-hang
Professor Mak Tak-wah
Mr Joseph Luc Ngai
Mr Anthony John Liddell Nightingale
Mr Neil Shen Nanpeng
Dr Harry Shum
Mr John Robert Slosar
Mr Jack So Chak-kwong
Ms Winnie Tam Wan-chi, SC
Mr Henry Tang Ying-yen
Mr Joseph Tsai
Professor Tsui Lap-chee
Mr Andrew Tung Lieh-cheung
Mr Wong Siu-kong
Dr Wong Yau-kar
Mr Peter Woo Kwong-ching
Professor Anthony Wu Ting-yuk
Ms Marjorie Yang Mun-tak
Professor Eric Yim Chi-ming
Dr Allan Zeman
Mr John Zhao
Ex-officio Members
Chief Secretary for Administration
Financial Secretary
Secretary for Justice
Director, Chief Executive's Office

     Biographical notes on the non-official members are in the annex.

Ends/Wednesday, March 21, 2018
Issued at HKT 10:30