Government announces appointment of chairperson of Communications Authority

     The Government announced today (March 12) that the Chief Executive has appointed Ms Winnie Tam Wan-chi as the chairperson of the Communications Authority (CA). The appointment is effective from today up to March 31, 2019, i.e. the expiry of the original period of appointment of the former chairperson, as per section 8(7) of the Communications Authority Ordinance.

     The Chief Executive has also appointed two new members to the CA, Ms Karen Chan Ka-yin and Professor Ray Yep Kin-man, and re-appointed two incumbent members, Mr Hubert Ng Ching-wah and Dr Anthony William Seeto Yiu-wai, all for a term of two years from April 1, 2018 to March 31, 2020.

     The Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Edward Yau, said, "I am pleased that Ms Tam has been appointed as the chairperson of the CA. With her experience in public service and her professional background, I am confident that she will be able to lead the CA to rise up to the challenges ahead."

     Mr Yau welcomed the two new members to the CA, who come from the business and academic sectors respectively. He noted that both have vast experience in community services, which will be will be valuable for the CA's work. He also thanked outgoing members, Mr Adrian Wong Koon-man and Mr Alan Lui Siu-lun, for their contributions over the years.

     Brief profiles of the newly-appointed chairperson and non-official members are as follows:

Ms Winnie Tam
     Ms Winnie Tam is a Senior Counsel in private practice as a barrister and international arbitrator. She is currently a member of the Hong Kong Tourism Board, West Kowloon Cultural District Authority and the Advisory Committee on Corruption of the Independent Commission Against Corruption. She served previously as the chairperson of Appeal Tribunal Panel (Buildings) and as a member of the Telecommunications (Competition Provisions) Appeal Board.

Ms Karen Chan
     Ms Karen Chan is the Executive Director of German Pool Group Company Limited and the Vice President of German Pool (Hong Kong) Limited. She is currently a member of the CreateSmart Initiative Vetting Committee, the Insurance Appeals Tribunal and the Statistics Advisory Board. She served previously as a member of the Trade and Industry Advisory Board and the Vocational Training Council.

Professor Ray Yep
     Professor Ray Yep is the Associate Head of Department of Public Policy of the City University of Hong Kong and a Research Director of SynergyNet, a local policy think tank. He was previously a member of the Advisory Council for Environment and its Environmental Impact Assessment Subcommittee, and an associate member of the Central Policy Unit.

     Membership of the CA from April 1, 2018 will be as follows:

Ms Winnie Tam Wan-chi

Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Communications and Creative Industries)

Non-official members
Ms Karen Chan Ka-yin
Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun
Mrs Yvonne Law Shing Mo-han
Mr Thomas Lo Sui-sing
Mr Hubert Ng Ching-wah
Dr Anthony William Seeto Yiu-wai
Mr Benjamin Tang Kwok-bun
Professor Ray Yep Kin-man
Professor Xu Yan

Official member
Director-General of Communications

Ends/Monday, March 12, 2018
Issued at HKT 17:00