Go to main content
ENB announces reappointment of members of Steering Group on Modification of Recycling and Refuse Collection Facilities in Public Places
     The Environment Bureau announced today (February 1) the re-appointment of members of the Steering Group on the Modification of Recycling and Refuse Collection Facilities in Public Places for a term of two years from February 1, 2018, to January 31, 2020.

     To prepare for the implementation of municipal solid waste (MSW) charging, the Steering Group was set up by the Environment Bureau in February 2016 under the chairmanship of the Secretary for the Environment to review the design and distribution of recycling and refuse collection facilities in public places and recommend necessary modifications to facilitate waste reduction and resource recovery in the community.

     In the past two years, the Steering Group commissioned a consultancy study to review the number and distribution of recycling bins (RBs) and litter containers (LCs) in public places. Having regard to a set of general planning parameters recommended by the consultancy study, relevant bureaux/departments have put forward an adjustment plan to increase the number of RBs by 45 per cent to 4 000, and to reduce the number of LCs by 40 per cent to 24 300, such that the current RB to LC ratio of 1:14 will be increased to 1:6 towards the end of 2019 when MSW charging is expected to be implemented at the earliest.

     The Steering Group subsequently commenced the Stage 2 consultancy study in November 2017 to review the existing designs of LCs and RBs in public places and to make recommendations on new designs. The consultants have conducted more than 10 public engagement activities through different platforms including surveys, interviews, workshops, meetings and visits, to invite views on the new designs from the general public and different stakeholders (including green groups, front-line cleaning workers, recyclers, residents of old districts and rural villages and tourists) with a view to setting the design direction and identifying key issues that should be taken into account. The consultants will, at a later stage, produce prototypes of the proposed designs to further solicit views from the public and different stakeholders with a view to reporting and submitting recommendations to the Steering Group in the second half of 2018. 

     The Steering Group comprises members drawn from relevant sectors, including design and planning, academia, business, non-profit groups and district bodies, as well as relevant government departments. The membership of the Steering Group is as follows:

Secretary for the Environment

Ms Carmen Chan Ka-mun
Mr Simeon Cheng Sing-hymn
Ms Vivien Cheng Yu-wai
Professor Raymond Fung Wing-kee
Mr Evans Iu Po-lung
Dr Amie Lai Gor
Mr Lam Ho-yeung
Mr Simon Lam Yiu-man
Ms Joanne Lee Yuen-ting
Ms Cynthia Leung Mei-po
Mr Ben Ng Wing-hong
Professor Michael Siu Kin-wai
Ms Iris Tam Siu-ying
Dr Tang Chin-cheung
Mr Luther Wong Lok-tak
Representatives of the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department
Representatives of the Environmental Protection Department
Representatives of the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department
Representative of the Home Affairs Department
Representatives of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Ends/Thursday, February 1, 2018
Issued at HKT 14:00
Today's Press Releases