Go to main content
Provision of "stop-and-go" e-payment facilities at Tseung Kwan O Tunnel to begin from February 4
     The Transport Department (TD) today (January 26) announced that "stop-and-go" e-payment facilities will be provided at the manual toll booths of the Tseung Kwan O Tunnel from February 4 (Sunday). Motorists will be able to pay tolls by Octopus or contactless credit cards (including Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay) issued by local banks, saving time otherwise spent on cash counting and receiving change.

     Two sets of card reader panels will be installed at each manual toll booth to serve vehicles of different heights. The card reader on the left of each panel will accept Octopus card payment and the one on the right will accept contactless credit cards. Cash payment will still be accepted if motorists cannot pay the toll successfully by tapping their cards.

     Apart from the Tseung Kwan O Tunnel, the "stop-and-go" e-Payment facilities have already been introduced at the Shing Mun Tunnels, the Aberdeen Tunnel, the Cross-Harbour Tunnel and the Lantau Link (Lantau Toll Plaza). The TD will introduce the e-Payment System in phases at the remaining government tolled tunnels and roads, and will announce the implementation dates later.

     Motorists can call 1823 for enquiries on the operation of the "stop-and-go" e-payment system.
Ends/Friday, January 26, 2018
Issued at HKT 15:00
Today's Press Releases