Go to main content
Appointment to SFC Advisory Committee
     The Financial Secretary, under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, has appointed Professor Kalok Chan to the Advisory Committee of the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) from January 15, 2018, to May 31, 2019.

     Announcing the appointment today (January 12), a Government spokesman said, "The Advisory Committee of the SFC comprises practitioners from a wide array of professions. They possess operational experience and professional knowledge about the financial market. We are confident that Professor Chan will provide independent and professional advice to the SFC on matters related to the SFC's policy and market regulation."

     The spokesman also paid tribute to the retired member, Mr Vincent Duhamel, for his valuable contribution over the past years.

     The Advisory Committee of the SFC was established under Section 7 of the Securities and Futures Ordinance to advise the SFC on policy matters regarding its regulatory objectives and functions.

     The membership of the SFC Advisory Committee is as follows:

Dr Au King-lun
Ms Prudence Ann Bennett
Mr Jeffrey Chan
Professor Kalok Chan (new appointee)
Ms Wei Sun Christianson
Ms Ding Chen
Mr David Graham
Mrs Ann Kung Yeung Yun-chi
Mr Mark Graham Shipman
Dr Tan Yue-heng
Mr Richard David Winter
Mr Yin Ke

     In addition to the 12 appointed members, the Advisory Committee of the SFC comprises the Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and two Executive Directors of the SFC.
Ends/Friday, January 12, 2018
Issued at HKT 17:00
Today's Press Releases