Go to main content
Appointments to Vocational Training Council
     The Government announced today (December 1) the appointment of Dr Roy Chung Chi-ping as the Chairman of the Vocational Training Council (VTC).
    The Secretary for Education, Mr Kevin Yeung, welcomed the appointment. He said, "Dr Chung has been devoted to steering the development of Vocational and Professional Education and Training (VPET) in Hong Kong. He has made valuable contributions to the work of the VTC since his appointment as a member in 2004 and later as a Deputy Chairman. With his rich experience in VPET and the breadth of his experience in public service, I am confident that Dr Chung will lead the VTC to be the Government's closest partner."
    The incumbent Deputy Chairman, Professor Eric Yim Chi-ming, has been re-appointed. The three incumbent members re-appointed are Mr Paul Chong Kin-lit, Ms Candy Tam Lai-chuen and Mr Gary Yeung Man-yui. Dr Daniel Yip Chung-yin is appointed as a new member.
    All the above appointments or re-appointments are for two years, from January 1, 2018, to December 31, 2019.
    Mr Yeung thanked the outgoing Chairman, Dr Clement Chen Cheng-jen. 
    "Dr Chen has been with the VTC since 1998 and served as the Chairman since January 2012. Under his capable leadership, the VTC has made remarkable development in various areas. Apart from leading the VTC to take forward its strategic plans, Dr Chen also supported the VTC in expanding the progression ladder for VPET students and enhancing the VTC's internship programmes, as well as in enabling VTC students to participate in more international skills competitions and exchanges to broaden their horizons. I am grateful to Dr Chen for his dedicated contribution to the work of the VTC and to the promotion of VPET," he said.
    Mr Yeung also expressed his gratitude towards the outgoing member, Ms Karen Chan Ka-yin.
    The membership list of the VTC from January 1, 2018, is as follows:

Dr Roy Chung Chi-ping
Deputy Chairmen
Mr Conrad Wong Tin-cheung
Professor Eric Yim Chi-ming
Professor Philip Chan Ching-ho
Mr Victor Chan Kok-wai
Mr Paul Chong Kin-lit
Ms Quince Chong Wai-yan
Dr Jacob Kam Chak-pui
Mr Alkin Kwong Ching-wai
Mr Ronald Lam Siu-por
Mr Leung Kai-lik
Mr Clarence Leung Wang-ching
Mr Kennedy Liu Tat-yin
Ms Low Khah-gek
Mr Tony Tai Chark-tong
Ms Candy Tam Lai-chuen
Mr Gary Yeung Man-yui
Dr Daniel Yip Chung-yin
Deputy Secretary for Education (or his representative)
Director-General of Trade and Industry (or his representative)
Commissioner for Labour (or his representative)
Executive Director of Vocational Training Council
    The VTC was established in 1982 with a mission to provide a comprehensive system of vocational education and training as well as multiple pathways for young people, and to meet the needs of different industries in Hong Kong. The 13 member institutions of the VTC provide a broad spectrum of pre-employment and in-service education and training programmes, covering a wide range of industries and catering for students with different backgrounds and abilities.
Ends/Friday, December 1, 2017
Issued at HKT 17:25
Today's Press Releases