Advisory Committee on Mental Health established

     The Government announced today (November 28) the establishment of the Advisory Committee on Mental Health.

     Chaired by Mr Wong Yan-lung, SC, the new committee will advise the Government on mental health policies, including the establishment of more integral and comprehensive approaches to tackle multi-faceted mental health issues in Hong Kong. It will assist the Government in developing policies, strategies and measures to enhance mental health services in Hong Kong. It will follow up on and monitor the implementation of the recommendations of the 2017 Mental Health Review Report.

     Welcoming the new committee on board, the Secretary for Food and Health, Professor Sophia Chan, said, "I am deeply touched by and most grateful for the readiness and commitment of all new appointees to serve."

     The first term of the Advisory Committee on Mental Health will run for a period of two years from December 1, 2017, to November 30, 2019.

     "As the World Health Organization puts it, there is no health without mental health. Striving to improve the mental health of specific sectors within the community, including children and adolescents, adults and the elderly, is ever more challenging. It calls for leadership, determination and cross-sectoral collaboration.

     "I extend my warm wishes to the Advisory Committee and look forward to early improvements being introduced for the mental health services in Hong Kong."

     The Advisory Committee on Mental Health comprises members from various sectors with a great wealth of expertise and experience including professionals from the healthcare, social service and education sectors, representatives from patient and carer advocacy groups, and lay persons with interest in mental health.

     The membership list of the Advisory Committee on Mental Health is as follows:

Mr Wong Yan-lung, SC

Non-Official Members

Healthcare Sector

Dr Felix Chan Hon-wai (Service Director, Primary & Community Health Care, Hong Kong West Cluster, Hospital Authority)
Professor Eric Chen Yu-hai (President, Hong Kong College of Psychiatrists)
Dr Hung Se-fong (specialist in psychiatry)
Ms Glendy Ip Suk-han (Nurse Consultant, Kwai Chung Hospital)
Professor Linda Lam Chiu-wa (Professor in psychiatry, Chinese University of Hong Kong)
Dr David Lau Ying-kit (specialist in psychiatry)
Dr Eugenie Leung Yeuk-sin (clinical psychologist)
Dr Josephine Grace Wong Wing-san (specialist in psychiatry)
Social Service and Education Sectors

Mr Chua Hoi-wai (Chief Executive, Hong Kong Council of Social Service)
Mr Frederick Lai Wing-hoi (Service Head, Youth & Community Service cum Community Development Service, Caritas Hong Kong)
Mr Dicky Lam Ka-hong (Principal, Kowloon Women's Welfare Club Li Ping Memorial School)
Mr James Lam Yat-fung (Principal, Lions College)
Professor Samson Tse Shu-ki (Professor in social work and social administration, University of Hong Kong)
Ms Anita Wong Yiu-ming (Elderly Services Director, Hong Kong Chinese Women's Club)
Professor Loretta Yam Yin-chun (Adjunct Professor in public health and primary care, Chinese University of Hong Kong)
Ms Sania Yau Sau-wai (Chief Executive Officer, New Life Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association)
Lay Persons

Ms Lily Chan Lei-hung (Peer Support Worker, Castle Peak Hospital)
Miss Twiggy Chan Cheuk-ki (Director, Boaz International Education Institute Ltd)
Mr William Choy (employer of ex-mentally ill persons)
Mr Stephen Leung Mung-hung (Advisor, Christian Oi Hip Fellowship)
Professor Naubahar Sharif (Associate Professor in social science and public policy, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
Miss Yuen Shuk-yan (Community Organizer, Society for Community Organization)
Ms Shirley Marie Therese Loo (representative of Equal Opportunities Commission)

Ex-officio Members
Permanent Secretary for Food and Health (Health) or representative
Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare or representative
Permanent Secretary for Education or representative
Director of Health or representative
Director of Social Welfare or representative
Director (Cluster Services), Hospital Authority
Chairman, Coordinating Committee in Psychiatry, Hospital Authority
Principal Assistant Secretary for Food and Health (Health)3 (Secretary)

Ends/Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Issued at HKT 15:27