Nineteen departments win Civil Service Outstanding Service Awards (with photos)

     The Chief Executive, Mrs Carrie Lam, commended and congratulated winning departments and teams for their service excellence while officiating at the prize presentation ceremony of the Civil Service Outstanding Service Award Scheme 2017 today (September 7).

     Speaking at the prize presentation ceremony, the Secretary for the Civil Service, Mr Joshua Law, said that the award scheme provides civil servant colleagues with an open platform to discuss their experience so as to further enhance the quality of government services.

     Mr Law said that the civil service is highly efficient, clean and impartial, and is the cornerstone Hong Kong's stability and prosperity. He said, "I believe that the public have learnt how our colleagues braved the storm and performed their duties with perseverance and dedication during the recent passage of typhoons. Their performances in preparedness, emergency rescues and handling the aftermath were all extremely professional and reliable.

     "With the changing social environment and rising public expectations, I encourage the civil service to continue to adhere to the people-based principle and to act in line with the new style of governance advocated by the Chief Executive, in order to be able to respond proactively to the community's needs, strive for innovation, enhance efficiency in governance and work together for the development of Hong Kong."

     The Civil Service Outstanding Service Award Scheme, which has been organised by the Civil Service Bureau (CSB) since 1999 as a biennial event, aims to recognise the efforts of government departments and teams in providing outstanding services to the community, promote a customer-focused culture and inspire civil servants to continuously strive for excellence in service delivery.

     This year's award scheme was co-organised with the Hong Kong Management Association. Awards under the scheme are presented at three levels, namely the inter-departmental partnership award, departmental awards and team awards. Thirty-nine entries from 19 departments were awarded under nine award scheme categories. Please refer to the Annex for the list of awardees.

     Award-winning departments and entries were assessed by members of the public and 62 adjudicators from different sectors and professions including Legislative and District Councillors, staff members of the Central Consultative Councils of the Civil Service, representatives from professional organisations, experienced practitioners from service industries and senior officials from the CSB. All entries went through two stages of rigorous adjudication.

     Officiating guests at today's ceremony included Legislative Council members who are also chairpersons of the final adjudication panels of the Award Scheme, namely Mr Kwok Wai-keung, Mr Jeremy Tam and Mrs Regina Ip, and representative of the Hong Kong Management Association Dr Pang Yiu-kai.

     To promote the commendable efforts of the award winners and their notable achievements, the CSB has arranged to present the winning cases in a TV programme, with details as follows:
Date Time Television station
September 13 (Wednesday) and
September 20 (Wednesday)
6pm to 6.30pm TVB Jade
September 13 (Wednesday) and
September 20 (Wednesday)
11pm to 11.30pm Cable TV Live News Channel
September 24 (Sunday) 9pm to 10pm RTHK TV 31
September 27 (Wednesday) and
September 28 (Thursday)
6.30pm to 7pm ViuTV

     Details of the Civil Service Outstanding Service Award Scheme are available at the website

Ends/Thursday, September 7, 2017
Issued at HKT 17:45