Go to main content
Appointments to Curriculum Development Council
     The Government today (September 1) announced the chairmanship and membership of the new-term Curriculum Development Council (CDC). Professor Tam Kar-yan is appointed as Chairperson of the CDC for a term of two years from September 1. 

     Also appointed to the CDC are seven new members. They are Ms Chung Po-loi, Ms Carol Fung Lai-suen, Ms Kam Yin-ping, Revd Canon Peter Douglas Koon Ho-ming, Ms Lam Tsz-ki, Professor Ricardo Mak King-sang, and Mr Wong Yu-leung.

     In addition, 11 serving members, including Mr Eric Chan Sze-yuen, Professor May Cheng May-hung, Mr Gyver Lau Kwok-leung, Mr Leung Yam-shing, Mr David Leung Yiu-fai, Professor Joshua Mok Ka-ho, Dr Pang Ming-fai, Dr Poon Po-chiu, Mr Joseph Tsang Chi-to, Ms Ayse Wong Oi-sze and Ms Wat Ka-man have been re-appointed.

     The Secretary for Education, Mr Kevin Yeung, said, "Over the past few years, under the remarkable leadership of the outgoing Chairperson, Professor Kenneth Young, and the active participation of the CDC members, the ongoing enhancement of the school curriculum has better equipped our students to meet the challenges arising from rapid local, regional and global changes, and has hence boosted Hong Kong's competitiveness"

     He added, "I am sure that Professor Tam, with his rich experience in education and research, will effectively steer the CDC and advise the Government to enable the curriculum development in Hong Kong to go from strength to strength." Professor Tam is currently Dean of Business and Management at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. He has rendered his expert advice on implementing the New Academic Structure, as well as promoting STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) education and business-related studies during his service as a CDC member since 2013. Professor Tam's active public service includes membership in the Research Grants Council and the Hong Kong Productivity Council.

     Mr Yeung also thanked the outgoing Chairperson and members for their acclaimed service and contributions to curriculum development in Hong Kong. They are Professor Kenneth Young, Ms Chan Kar-mun, Ms Nancy Ho Lan-sang, Ms Kwok Kam-lin, Ms Grace Pow Kar-po, Mr Shum Kin-ming, Mr Teddy Tang Chun-keung, Dr Tsui Chun-cheung and Ms Phyonne Wong Yuk-lan.

     The CDC advises the Government on all matters relating to curriculum development of the local school system from kindergarten to senior secondary education.

     The full list of membership of the CDC with effect from September 1, 2017, is as follows:

Professor Tam Kar-yan

Dean of Business and Management and Chair          
Professor of Information Systems, Business Statistics and Operations Management of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Appointed members
Mr Eric Chan Sze-yuen
Head of Products & Services of Hutchison Global Communications Limited
Professor May Cheng May-hung
Associate Vice President (Academic Affairs) & Registrar of the Education University of Hong Kong
Ms Chung Po-loi
Principal of Po On Commercial Association Wan Ho Kan Primary School
Ms Carol Fung Lai-suen Chief Principal of Good Time Play Schools
Ms Kam Yin-ping
Principal of Po Leung Kuk Anita L. L. Chan (Centenary) School
Revd Canon Peter Douglas Koon Ho-ming Provincial Secretary General of Hong Kong Sheng Kung Hui
Ms Lam Tsz-ki      Principal of Hong Kong Soka Kindergarten
Mr Gyver Lau Kwok-leung Principal of Chinese YMCA College
Mr Leung Yam-shing
Deputy Executive Director of Vocational Training Council
Mr David Leung Yiu-fai
Head of Operations Training of MTR Corporation Limited and Dean of MTR Academy
Professor Ricardo Mak King-sang
Professor of Department of History and Director of Advanced Institute of Contemporary China Studies, Hong Kong Baptist University
Professor Joshua Mok Ka-ho
Vice President and Chair Professor of Comparative Policy of Lingnan University
Dr Pang Ming-fai
Associate Professor of Faculty of Education of the University of Hong Kong
Dr Poon Po-chiu
Principal of Ju Ching Chu Secondary School (Yuen Long)
Mr Joseph Tsang Chi-to Vice Principal of Ying Wa College
Ms Wat Ka-man
Vice Principal of King's College Old Boys' Association Primary School
Ms Ayse Wong Oi-sze
Vice President of Human Resources of Regal Hotels International
Mr Wong Yu-leung
Chairperson of Federation of Parent-Teacher Associations Sham Shui Po District Limited

Ex officio members
Principal Assistant Secretary (Curriculum Development) of the Education Bureau (EDB), also the Vice-chairperson of the CDC
The Chairperson of the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council or his/her representative
Representative from other divisions of the EDB
Ends/Friday, September 1, 2017
Issued at HKT 11:35
Today's Press Releases