Go to main content
Post-office employment for former politically appointed official and former officials under special appointment
     The Advisory Committee on Post-office Employment for Former Chief Executives and Politically Appointed Officials has advised on the proposed employment of the former Secretary for Development, Mr Ma Siu-cheung, after his departure from the Government on July 1, 2017. Furthermore, the Government has accepted the advice of the Advisory Committee on the applications for post-office work by Mr Fung Wai-kwong, the former Information Co-ordinator of the Chief Executive's Office, and Professor Wong Chack-kie, a former Full-time Member of the Central Policy Unit, and approved the applications.

     The Advisory Committee considers that, subject to the observance of certain restrictions it has advised, the proposed employment of Mr Ma would not give rise to any potential conflict of interest. The Advisory Committee also does not anticipate adverse public reaction or public perception to arise from the proposed employment.

     Mr Fung and Professor Wong are former officials under special appointment and both left the Government on July 1, 2017 upon the expiry of their employment contracts. After considering their applications for post-office work, the Advisory Committee has advised that they may take up their proposed work subject to certain restrictions. The Government has accepted the Advisory Committee's advice and approved their respective post-office work applications subject to those restrictions.

     The Advisory Committee considers and advises on the post-office employment or appointment for former politically appointed officials and officials under special appointment. In considering each case, the Advisory Committee has regard to the information provided by the former politically appointed official or official under special appointment concerned, the assessments by relevant government bureaux or offices, and the criteria for advice as stipulated in the guidance notes on post-office employment for politically appointed officials or officials under special appointment.

     Details of the above-mentioned cases are available at the Advisory Committee's website (www.ceo.gov.hk/poo/eng/index.htm).

     The membership of the Advisory Committee is as follows:

Professor Liu Pak-wai (Chairman)
Ms Teresa Cheng Yeuk-wah
Ms Elaine Lo Yuen-man
Ms Susanna Chiu Lai-kuen
Mr Thomas Brian Stevenson
Ends/Thursday, August 31, 2017
Issued at HKT 16:00
Today's Press Releases