Go to main content
Appointments to Betting and Lotteries Commission
     The Chief Executive has made appointments to the Betting and Lotteries Commission for the term from August 1, 2017, to July 31, 2019, pursuant to the Betting Duty Ordinance.
     Mr David Fong Man-hung has been re-appointed as the Chairman of the Commission. Nine members have been re-appointed and two new members have been appointed. The non-official membership of the Commission is:
Mr David Fong Man-hung
Re-appointed Members
Ms Winnie Chiu Wing-kwan
Mr Kenneth Fok Kai-kong
Reverend Ho Chi-dik
Ms Ho Yee-lin
Ms Lu Hai
Ms Viola Man Yee-wai
Dr Jennifer Ng Chui-yiu
Mr David Wong Chor-fung
Ms Sania Yau Sau-wai
Newly Appointed Members
Ms Fonnie Leung Fung-yee
Mr Andrew Wan Siu-kin
     The three public officers re-appointed to the Commission are the Commissioner of Police or representative, the Permanent Secretary for Education or representative and the Director of Home Affairs or representative.
     "The Commission comprises a balanced composition of individuals from different fields, including the education, religion and social work sectors. We will continue to work closely with the Commission to assist it in discharging its statutory functions effectively," a spokesman for the Home Affairs Bureau said.
     According to the Betting Duty Ordinance, the function of the Commission is to advise the Secretary for Home Affairs on matters relating to:
(a) regulation of the conduct of horse race betting, football betting and lotteries;
(b) issuance and revocation of licences in respect of (a) above and the variation of the licensing conditions;
(c) compliance with the licensing conditions by the licensees and the handling of complaints that relate to non-compliance with the conditions of the licence; and
(d) imposition of financial penalties on the licensees.
Ends/Tuesday, August 1, 2017
Issued at HKT 17:25
Today's Press Releases