Go to main content
Appointments to Research Council
     The Government today (August 1) announced the appointment of two new members, who are serving members of the Health Care and Promotion Committee, to the Research Council for a term of one year with effect from August 1, 2017, following the incorporation of the Health Care and Promotion Fund into the Health and Medical Research Fund.

     The two new members are Ms Mabel Chau Man-ki and Dr Gene Tsoi Wai-wang. Ms Chau is an expert in rehabilitation while Dr Tsoi is a specialist in family medicine. Both of them have ample experience in promoting health in the local community.

     The Council, chaired by the Secretary for Food and Health, is responsible for providing strategic guidance for funding health and medical research, and overseeing the administration of the Health and Medical Research Fund including the allocation of funds for approved research projects.

     The membership list of the Council with effect from August 1, 2017, is as follows:

Secretary for Food and Health/Permanent Secretary for Food and Health (Health)

Professor Francis Chan Ka-leung
Ms Mabel Chau Man-ki
Professor Annie Cheung Nga-yin
Professor Fok Tai-fai
Professor David Hui Shu-cheong
Professor Mary Ip Sau-man
Professor Nancy Ip Yuk-yu
Professor Lau Yu-lung
Professor Diana Lee Tze-fan
Professor Gabriel M Leung
Professor Dennis Lo Yuk-ming
Professor Alex Molasiotis
Professor Malik Peiris
Professor Paul Tam Kwong-hang
Dr Dominic Tsang Ngai-chong
Dr Gene Tsoi Wai-wang
Professor Maurice Yap Keng-hung
Professor Yeoh Eng-kiong
Dr Yu Wai-cho
Secretary for Innovation and Technology or representative
Director of Health or representative
Chief Executive of Hospital Authority or representative
Head, Research Office, Food and Health Bureau (Secretary)
Ends/Tuesday, August 1, 2017
Issued at HKT 14:30
Today's Press Releases