Appointments to Air Transport Licensing Authority

     The Government announced today (July 28) the appointment of a new member, Miss Mabel Chan Mei-bo, and the re-appointment of two incumbent members, Ms Ivy Cheung Wing-han and Mr Nelson Lam Chi-yuen, to the Air Transport Licensing Authority for two years from August 1, 2017.

     The Secretary for Transport and Housing, Mr Frank Chan Fan, said, "We are confident that the team of new and serving members, with their expertise and backgrounds in different sectors, will make valuable contributions to the work of the Authority in facilitating the development of air services in Hong Kong.

     "The Government is most grateful to the retiring member, Mr Peter Choy Chak-wa, for his invaluable contribution during his six years with the Authority. His current term of service will expire on July 31, 2017."

     The Authority is an independent statutory body established under the Air Transport (Licensing of Air Services) Regulations, Cap. 448 sub. leg. A. It is responsible for considering applications from Hong Kong airlines for licences to operate scheduled services to and from Hong Kong in accordance with the provisions of the said regulations.

     The appointments were published in the Government Gazette today.

Ends/Friday, July 28, 2017
Issued at HKT 16:00