LegCo Members meet with members of Sai Kung and Kowloon City District Councils (with photos)

The following is issued on behalf of the Legislative Council Secretariat:

     Members of the Legislative Council (LegCo) held separate meetings today (July 7) with members of the Sai Kung District Council (DC) and the Kowloon City DC respectively at the LegCo Complex to discuss and exchange views on matters of mutual interest.

     During the meeting with Sai Kung DC, LegCo Members discussed and exchanged views with DC members on the following issues: expediting the construction of cultural and recreational facilities in Tseung Kwan O; expediting the implementation of the plan to upgrade Tseung Kwan O to an independent police district; expediting the completion of the Tseung Kwan O - Lam Tin Tunnel project and the implementation of the Tseung Kwan O Cross Bay Link project; proactively improving the vehicular congestion at Clear Water Bay Road and New Clear Water Bay Road; and expediting the commencement of the Hiram’s Highway Improvement Stage 2 project.  The meeting was convened by Mr Chan Chi-chuen and attended by Mr Tommy Cheung, Ms Starry Lee, Mr Chan Hak-kan, Mr Yiu Si-wing, Dr Fernando Cheung, Dr Elizabeth Quat, Mr Poon Siu-ping, Dr Lo Wai-kwok, Mr Alvin Yeung, Mr Lam Cheuk-ting, Mr Holden Chow, Mr Chan Chun-ying, Mr Lau Kwok-fan and Mr Kenneth Lau.

     As for the meeting with Kowloon City DC, LegCo Members discussed with DC members on a number of issues: reserving sites in the environs of Ma Tau Wai Estate for its redevelopment; community problems arising from illegal parking of tourist coaches and request for building public car parks; improving the overloading traffic and pedestrian flows at the toll plaza of the Cross Harbour Tunnel and the connecting footbridges; enhancing the management and ancillary facilities of the Kai Tak Cruise Terminal; as well as following up and improving the environmental hygiene problems in Kowloon City District.  The meeting was convened by Dr Priscilla Leung and attended by Mr Wong Ting-kwong, Ms Starry Lee, Mr Paul Tse, Mr Yiu Si-wing, Dr Helena Wong, Dr Chiang Lai-wan, Dr Lo Wai-kwok, Mr Chan Chun-ying, Mr Lau Kwok-fan, Mr Jeremy Tam and Dr Lau Siu-lai.

Ends/Friday, July 7, 2017
Issued at HKT 19:45