Chief Executive appoints Harbourfront Commission members

     The Government announced today (June 30) the Chief Executive's appointment of 28 members to serve on the Harbourfront Commission (HC) for the term commencing on July 1, 2017.

     Mr Charles Nicholas Brooke is re-appointed as the Chairperson of the HC for a one-year term from July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018.

     Mr Vincent Ng Wing-shun is re-appointed as a member of the HC for a one-year term from July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018.

     Twelve organisations, four individuals and eight public officers are re-appointed as members of the HC for a two-year term from July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2019.

     Mr Karl Kwok Chi-leung and Mr Tony Tse Wai-chuen are appointed as new members of the HC for a two-year term from July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2019.

     The Secretary for Development, Mr Eric Ma, welcomed the appointments and re-appointments.

     "The Government treasures the partnership it has built up with the HC in the past seven years and will continue to look upon the HC for support and advice on harbourfront planning, design and management matters. The diversified and multi-disciplinary composition of the HC will continue to help achieve the shared vision between the Government and the HC in building a connected, attractive and vibrant harbourfront," Mr Ma said.

     "The re-appointments of Mr Charles Nicholas Brooke and Mr Vincent Ng for another year will help retain invaluable expertise and experiences on harbourfront matters in the HC and benefit the pending implementation of new initiatives as announced in the 2017 Policy Address."

     Mr Ma added that the newly appointed members would provide valuable advice to the HC. He said, "Mr Karl Kwok is a veteran in the field of water sports who can bring his unique perspective to the discussions of the HC, in particular those relating to the promotion of a water-friendly culture in Hong Kong.

     "Mr Tony Tse has represented the Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors in attending the former Harbourfront Enhancement Committee (the predecessor to the HC) before. The HC will benefit from his professional advice on harbourfront development matters for the enjoyment of all."

     The HC was established in July 2010 to advise the Government on harbourfront planning, design, management and other related matters with the objective of fostering and facilitating the development of the Victoria harbourfront.

     Following is the membership of the HC commencing July 1, 2017:
Mr Charles Nicholas Brooke
Secretary for Development
Non-official Members (Organisations)
Business Environment Council
Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport in Hong Kong Conservancy Association
Friends of the Earth
Hong Kong Institute of Architects
Hong Kong Institute of Landscape Architects
Hong Kong Institute of Planners
Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors
Hong Kong Institute of Urban Design
Hong Kong Institution of Engineers
Real Estate Developers Association of Hong Kong
Society for Protection of the Harbour
Non-official Members (Individuals)
Mr Chan Ka-kui
Mr Walter Chan Kar-lok
Ms Kelly Chan Yuen-sau
Mr Hans Joachim Isler
Mr Karl Kwok Chi-leung
Ms Vivian Lee Ying-shih
Mr Alan Lo Yeung-kit
Mr Vincent Ng Wing-shun
Mr Ngan Man-yu
Mr Tony Tse Wai-chuen
Official Members
Permanent Secretary for Development (Planning and Lands) or her representative
Commissioner for Tourism or her representative
Commissioner for Transport or her representative
Director of Civil Engineering and Development or his representative
Director of Leisure and Cultural Services or her representative
Director of Marine or her representative
Director of Planning or his representative
Principal Assistant Secretary for Development (Harbour) 

Ends/Friday, June 30, 2017
Issued at HKT 15:00