Go to main content
Appointments to Council on Human Reproductive Technology
     The Government today (May 5) announced the appointment of Ms Kam Yim-mui as the Deputy Chairperson and Mr Chan How-chi, Professor Sylvia Fung Yuk-kuen and Ms Ho Suet-chun as members of the Council on Human Reproductive Technology. All appointments are for a term of three years, with effect from May 11, 2017.

     The Secretary for Food and Health, Dr Ko Wing-man, welcomed the new members to the Council. He also expressed gratitude to the outgoing Deputy Chairperson, Ms Lisa Yip Sau-wah, and members, Professor Agnes Tiwari Fung-yee and Mr Herman Hu Shao-ming, for their invaluable contributions and unfailing support to the Council during their term of office.

     Established in 2001 under the Human Reproductive Technology Ordinance, the Council on Human Reproductive Technology is tasked to regulate the conduct of reproductive technology, including embryo research in Hong Kong through a licensing system and the publication of a Code of Practice for the relevant professions.

     Under section 4(2) of the Ordinance, the Council consists of 26 members from a wide range of disciplines, including medical specialists, legal professionals, a social worker, a scholar in philosophy and ethics, a psychologist, a sociologist, local community leaders and government representatives. 

     The membership list of the Council with effect from May 11, 2017, is as follows:

Dr Matthew Ng (Chairperson)
Ms Kam Yim-mui (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr Chan How-chi
Professor Jimson Chan Wing-tai
Professor Sylvia Fung Yuk-kuen
Ms Ho Suet-chun
Professor Alex Kwan Yui-huen
Professor Lee Mei-chun
Mr Stephen Leung Kwok-keung
Professor Leung Tak-yeung
Dr Leung Tse-ngong
Professor Lo Ping-cheung
Professor Ma Lai-chong
Reverend Dr Andrew Ng Wai-man
Ms Jennifer Ng Chui-yiu
Dr Lawrence Tang Chang-hung
Dr Tang Kwok-keung
Dr Wong Man-sau
Mr Wong Tim-wai
Ms Priscilla Wong Wai-yee
Mr Paul Wu Wai-ki
Ms Adelaide Yu Hoi-man
Principal Assistant Secretary, Food and Health Bureau
Assistant Director of Health, Department of Health
Assistant Director of Home Affairs, Home Affairs Department
Chief Social Work Officer, Social Welfare Department
Ends/Friday, May 5, 2017
Issued at HKT 12:10
Today's Press Releases