Go to main content
Chief Executive Election polling notices mailed to Election Committee members
     Polling notices and related information on the arrangements for the 2017 Chief Executive Election on March 26 have been sent to all Election Committee (EC) members.

     "If any EC member has not yet received the polling notice and related information, he/she can call the election hotline on 2891 1001," a spokesman for the Registration and Electoral Office (REO) said today (March 16).

     Items enclosed with the polling notice include a name badge of EC member, a location map of the main polling station and the central counting station, a note on the polling and counting procedures, a leaflet on Introduction to Candidates and a transportation map to the main polling station.

     The first round of voting will start at 9am and close at 11am at the main polling station in the Grand Hall, 3/F, Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC), Wan Chai. Should there be a need for more than one round of voting, the second and third rounds of voting will be held from 2pm to 3pm and from 7pm to 8pm respectively on the same day.

     "EC members should take their Hong Kong identity card to the main polling station in order to cast their vote. They should also bring their name badge to facilitate admission to the HKCEC. EC members are strongly encouraged to arrive early at the main polling station to avoid possible bunching towards the end of the poll," the spokesman said.

     "EC member who arrives at the main polling station after 11am will not be admitted to the polling station," he said.

     EC members are advised to go to the main polling station by public transport in view of the busy traffic in the vicinity of the HKCEC.

     The counting of votes will be held in the central counting station in Hall F and G, 5/F, HKCEC shortly after the close of the poll for each round of voting. After casting their votes, the REO encourages EC members to stay to observe the counting of votes at the central counting station.

     The three candidates contesting the election are John Tsang Chun-wah (No. 1), Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor (No. 2) and Woo Kwok-hing (No. 3).

     Information about the Chief Executive Election is available on the election website (www.elections.gov.hk).
Ends/Thursday, March 16, 2017
Issued at HKT 14:08
Today's Press Releases