Go to main content
Nomination period for Rural By-election gazetted
     The Government gazetted the nomination period for the Rural By-election today (March 10). Three Rural Representative vacancies will be open for nominations from March 21 to April 3.

     The by-election will return one Resident Representative for each of the three Existing Villages, namely Tseung Kwan O, Luen Yick Fishermen Village and Tin Liu. 

     To be eligible for a Resident Representative By-election, a candidate must be a resident of the Existing Village and must have been a resident of the Village for the six years immediately preceding the nomination. His or her principal residential address must be in the Village and "principal residential address" means the address of the dwelling place at which the candidate resides and which constitutes his or her sole or main home. The candidate must also be a registered elector of the Village. 

     All candidates must be permanent Hong Kong residents aged 21 or above and each candidate must be nominated by at least five registered electors from his or her Village. Each elector may nominate only one candidate. No one can stand as a candidate in more than one Village. 

     Nomination forms are available at the Home Affairs Enquiry Centres in the New Territories, the Home Affairs Department (HAD) and the Rural Representative Election website (www.had.gov.hk/rre). Nomination forms must be submitted in person to the Returning Officer of the respective Village by 5pm on April 3. 

     A spokesman for the HAD said that if there is more than one validly nominated candidate for the same Existing Village, a poll would be held for that Village on April 30 (Sunday). Eligible electors will receive a polling notice which specifies the date, time and place of the poll.

     For enquiries, please call 2152 1521.
Ends/Friday, March 10, 2017
Issued at HKT 10:30
Today's Press Releases