Cyber Security Professionals Awards (with photos)

     A total of sixty-one winners of the Cyber Security Professionals Awards were commended today (January 6) for their outstanding performance in the cyber security field.

     Co-organised by the Hong Kong Police Force, the Government Computer Emergency Response Team Hong Kong and the Hong Kong Computer Emergency Response Team Coordination Centre, the competition aims to motivate the cyber security personnel to professionalise their capabilities in preventing and detecting technology crimes as well as cyber-attacks.

     Speaking at the award presentation ceremony, the Commissioner of Police, Mr Lo Wai-chung, said that Hong Kong had to ensure that its cyber security measures keep pace with the ever changing nature of cyber threats. It was crucial for all stakeholders to work together in building strong networks of collaboration, to pool and leverage each other’s resources, develop expertise and create workable and effective security solutions.

     The Cyber Security Professionals Awards event is the first of its kind launched in Hong Kong. It recognises individuals in the cyber security field for their excellence, innovation and leadership displayed in different professional areas, including creating and implementing innovative cyber security policy; managing the risk of cyber threats; identifying and responding to cyber incidents; and communicating cyber security value to other members of the organisation.

     The event brought together the cyber security experience and the good practices of various professionals working at prominent sectors in Hong Kong, including banking and finance, communications, public utilities and transportation, to jointly tackle cyber threats.

     Officiating at the ceremony today were the Secretary for Security, Mr Lai Tung-kwok; the Commissioner of Police, Mr Lo Wai-chung; the Government Chief Information Officer, Ir Allen Yeung; the Executive Director of Hong Kong Productivity Council, Mrs Agnes Mak; the Chairman of Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce, Mr Stephen Ng; and Chairperson of the Board of Directors of Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation, Mrs Fanny Law.

     For more information of the competition, please visit:

Ends/Friday, January 6, 2017
Issued at HKT 18:14