Appointments to Advisory Council on the Environment

     The Government today (December 30) announced that Mr Stanley Wong Yuen-fai has been appointed as the Chairman and Professor Nora Tam Fung-yee as the Deputy Chairman of the Advisory Council on the Environment (ACE) for a two–year term with effect from January 1, 2017.

     Seven new members are also appointed to the ACE. They are Professor Lau Chi-pang, Ms Julia Lau Man-kwan, Mr Andrew Lee Chun-lai, Professor Kenneth Leung Mei-yee, Ms Michelle Tang Ming-sum, Mr Simon Wong Kit-lung and Professor Wong Sze-chun.

     The Secretary for the Environment, Mr Wong Kam-sing, said, "I warmly welcome Mr Wong, Professor Tam and the seven new members, and am looking forward to the continued support of the ACE to the development of environmental protection and conservation policies.

     "I thank the outgoing Professor Paul Lam Kwan-sing, Chairman, and Professor Chau Kwai-cheong, Deputy Chairman and Chairman of the Nature Conservation Subcommittee, for their leadership, dedication and support for the work of the ACE. I also thank Professor Fung Tung, Miss Yolanda Ng Yuen-ting, Dr Carrie Willis Yau Sheung-mui and Ms Pansy Yau Lai-ping, who will retire from January 1, 2017, for their valuable advice and contributions to the ACE over the past years."  

     The ACE keeps the state of the environment in Hong Kong under review and advises the Government, through the Secretary for the Environment, on appropriate measures which might be taken to combat pollution of all kinds, and to protect and sustain the environment.

     The appointments, published in the Gazette today, will be effective from January 1, 2017.

     The membership of the ACE for the new term is as follows:

* Mr Stanley Wong Yuen-fai

Deputy Chairman:
* Professor Nora Tam Fung-yee

* Mr Cary Chan Wing-hong
* Dr Billy Hau Chi-hang
* Dr Hung Wing-tat
* Dr Michael Lau Wai-neng
* Professor Albert Lee
* Professor Irene Lo Man-chi
* Mr Anthony Lock Kwok-on
* Mr Ma Lee-tak
* Professor John Ng Cheuk-yee
* Dr Eric Tsang Po-keung
* Mr Luther Wong Lok-tak
* Mr Conrad Wong Tin-cheung
* Professor Jonathan Wong Woon-chung
Professor Lau Chi-pang
Ms Julia Lau Man-kwan
Mr Andrew Lee Chun-lai
Professor Kenneth Leung Mei-yee
Ms Michelle Tang Ming-sum
Mr Simon Wong Kit-lung
Professor Wong Sze-chun

*  Serving members

Ends/Friday, December 30, 2016
Issued at HKT 11:00