Appointments to Manpower Development Committee

     The Government announced today (December 30) the appointment of four new members and the re-appointment of nine incumbent members to the Manpower Development Committee (MDC) for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2017.
     The four new members are Ms Sylvia Chung Wai-man, Mr David Li Chi-ming, Ms Mang Ngai and Dr Wong Kwok-keung.

     The nine incumbent members re-appointed are Ms Margaret Cheng Wai-ching, Mr Ip Wai-ming, Mr Willy Lin Sun-mo, Professor Lui Yu-hon, Mrs Cynthia Luk Ho Kam-wan, Mr Louis Pong Wai-yan, Mr Pun Tin-chi, Professor Wei Xiangdong and Professor Peter Yuen Pok-man.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, welcomed the appointments. He also thanked the four outgoing members - Dr David Chan Pun, Ms Carrie Leung Ka-lai, Ms Ng Wai-yee and Mrs Betty Yuen So Siu-mai - for their valuable contributions to the work of the MDC during their tenure of service.

     The MDC was set up in 2002 to advise the Government on the manpower needs of Hong Kong and related policies on human resources development to meet these needs, vocational training and retraining, post-secondary and continuing education, and a qualifications framework and a quality assurance framework. 

     Following is the membership list of the MDC with effect from January 1, 2017:

Secretary for Labour and Welfare
Ms Margaret Cheng Wai-ching
Ms Sylvia Chung Wai-man
Mr Ip Wai-ming
Mr David Li Chi-ming
Mr Willy Lin Sun-mo
Professor Lui Yu-hon
Mrs Cynthia Luk Ho Kam-wan
Ms Mang Ngai
Mr Louis Pong Wai-yan
Mr Pun Tin-chi
Professor Wei Xiangdong
Dr Wong Kwok-keung
Professor Peter Yuen Pok-man
Ex-officio members
Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare
Deputy Secretary for Education (1)
Government Economist
Chairman of the Employees Retraining Board
Chairman of the Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications
Chairman of the Vocational Training Council

Ends/Friday, December 30, 2016
Issued at HKT 11:00