Appointment of ACAN Chairman and members

     The Government announced today (December 30) that the Chief Executive has re-appointed Dr Ben Cheung Kin-leung as the Chairman of the Action Committee Against Narcotics (ACAN) and re-appointed 10 members. Six new members have been appointed.

     The re-appointments and new appointments are for a two-year term from January 1, 2017, to December 31, 2018.

     The newly appointed members are Mr Chan Man-ho, Mr Chan Wing-kin, Mr Fan Hoi-kit, Miss Anna-Mae Koo Mei-jong, Mr Sunny Tan and Ms Susan Yeung.

     "The new members come from different sectors including the social services, education, legal and business sectors. With their wealth of experience and expertise, we are confident that they will bring new momentum to the work of ACAN," a spokesman of the Narcotics Division, Security Bureau, said.

     Among the newly appointed ACAN members, Mr Chan Man-ho is an experienced social worker; Mr Chan Wing-kin is a secondary school principal; Mr Fan Hoi-kit and Miss Anna-Mae Koo Mei-jong are legal experts; Mr Sunny Tan is the executive director of a company; and Ms Susan Yeung is the director of a marketing consultancy firm.

     The spokesman also expressed gratitude to the six outgoing members for their contributions to the work of ACAN and dedication to the anti-drug cause. They are Mr Jonathan Chan Pok-chi, Mr Robert Chow Yung, Mr Kwok Wing-keung, Ms Christina Lee Maisenne, Ms Sandy Wong Hang-yee and Mr Ivan Yiu Tze-leung. 

     ACAN is the Government's advisory body on anti-drug matters. It was established in 1965. The membership list for January 1, 2017, to December 31, 2018, is as follows: 


Dr Ben Cheung Kin-leung


Mr Chan Man-ho
Mr Chan Wing-kin
Mr Edwin Cheng Shing-lung
Professor Cheung Yuet-wah
Mr Fan Hoi-kit
Dr Susan Fan Yun-sun
Mr Hui Yung-chung
Mr Simon Ip Shing-hing
Miss Anna-Mae Koo Mei-jong
Ms Lisa Lau Man-man
Dr Annissa Lui Wai-ling
Mr Irons Sze
Mr Sunny Tan
Dr Tik Chi-yuen
Dr Tse Man-li
Ms Susan Yeung
Director, Central Narcotics Bureau of Singapore
Secretary for Education or his representative
Commissioner of Police or his representative
Commissioner of Customs and Excise or his representative
Director of Health or his representative
Director of Social Welfare or his representative
Commissioner for Narcotics

Ends/Friday, December 30, 2016
Issued at HKT 11:03