Appointments to Small and Medium Enterprises Committee

     The Government today (December 30) announced appointments to the new term of the Small and Medium Enterprises Committee (SMEC) for the period from January 1, 2017, to December 31, 2018.

     The new term of the SMEC comprises 28 members with Dr Jonathan Choi Koon-shum re-appointed as the Chairman. Other non-official members mainly include businessmen, professionals, and representatives from organisations that provide support services to small and medium enterprises (SMEs).

     The Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, thanked the Chairman and members of the SMEC for accepting the appointments. Mr So said, "SMEs are the backbone of Hong Kong's economy. Over the years, the SMEC has rendered a lot of constructive advice to the Government, and made significant contributions in supporting SMEs in Hong Kong. I am confident that the SMEC will in the new term continue to offer valuable advice and assist the Government in formulating policies that facilitate the development of SMEs."

     Mr So also thanked the retiring members for their valuable contributions to and support for the work of the committee.

     The SMEC advises the Chief Executive on issues affecting the development of SMEs in Hong Kong, and suggests measures to support and facilitate their development and growth.

     The 2017-2018 membership of the SMEC is as follows:

Dr Jonathan Choi Koon-shum (Chairman)
Non-official members
Ms Katherine Fang Suk-kwan
Mr Bankee Kwan Pak-hoo
Mr Garic Kwok Yung-wai
Professor Eric Yim Chi-ming
Mr Plato Yip Kwong-to
Mr Joseph Chan Ho-lim
Miss Mabel Chan Mei-bo
Ms Cheung Yee-mei
Mr Jimmy Ng Wing-ka
Mrs Elizabeth Tse Wong Siu-yin
Mr Eric Yeung Chuen-sing
Dr Daniel Yip Chung-yin
Mr Lawrence Yip Hoi-king
Professor Kevin Au Yuk-fai                (newly-appointed)
Dr Priscilla Choy Wai-fun                   (newly-appointed)
Mr Michael Hui Wah-kit                     (newly-appointed)
Dr Stephen Kwok Chun-pong           (newly-appointed)
Ms Serena Lau Sze-wan                   (newly-appointed)
Mr Theodore Mak Chung-wo             (newly-appointed) 
Mrs Marissa Shaw Fung                    (newly-appointed) 
Mr Luther Wong Lok-tak                   (newly-appointed)
Mrs Bonnie Woo Chan Tak-chi           (newly-appointed) 
Representative of the Hong Kong Productivity Council
Representative of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council
Representative of the Vocational Training Council
Official members
Director-General of Trade and Industry
Deputy Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development

Ends/Friday, December 30, 2016
Issued at HKT 11:00