Appointments to Youth Square Management Advisory Committee

     The Home Affairs Bureau (HAB) announced today (December 30) the re-appointment of seven incumbent members and appointment of two new members to the Youth Square Management Advisory Committee (MAC) for a two-year term from January 1, 2017, to December 31, 2018.

     The Chairperson and non-official members of the MAC are as follows:

Permanent Secretary for Home Affairs

Ex-officio members
Chairperson of the Commission on Youth, or a representative
Chairperson of the Committee on the Promotion of Civic Education, or a representative
Representative from the Eastern District Council
Representative from the Board of Management of the Chinese Permanent Cemeteries

Newly appointed members
Mr Poon Siu-chi
Ms Meilina Tsui Mei-ling

Re-appointed members
Ms Christina Chan Sye-min
Ms Cherry Chan Yuk-fong
Dr Fong Wing-ho
Mr Angus Ho Kwok-lai
Mr Wong Kai-sang
Ms Ada Wu Ching-mei
Dr Yan Wai-kiu

Existing members
Ms May Chan Cheuk-kwan
Mr Allen Che Wai-hang
Ms Samantha Kong Wing-man
Mr Yu Chung-sing

     The MAC also includes representatives from the HAB, the Education Bureau and the Leisure and Cultural Services Department as members.

     A spokesman for HAB thanked the two outgoing members, Mrs Julie Ma Li Mun-wai and Mr William Yip Shun-him, for their support since their appointment to the MAC.

     The MAC is a non-statutory advisory body to advise the Government on matters pertaining to the operation of Youth Square, including the overall strategy and objectives of Youth Square; themes and contents of youth development programmes; the use, allocation, leasing and charging arrangements of various facilities; the evaluation of the effectiveness of the use of Youth Square in promoting youth development programmes and monitoring the performance of the operator.

Ends/Friday, December 30, 2016
Issued at HKT 11:09