Go to main content
Appointments to the Independent Police Complaints Council
     The Chief Executive has re-appointed the three incumbent vice-chairmen and seven members, as well as appointed nine new members to the Independent Police Complaints Council (IPCC) for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2017, a Government spokesman announced today (December 23).

     Mr Chan Kin-por, Mr Christopher Cheung Wah-fung and Mr Tony Tse Wai-chuen have been re-appointed as vice-chairmen. The re-appointed members are Dr‍ Eugene Chan Kin-keung, Dr Cheng Kam-chung, Mr Richard Ho Kam-wing, Dr‍ Vincent Simon Ho, Mr Herman Hui Chung-shing, Mr Edgar Kwan Chi-ping and Mr Arthur Luk Yee-shun. The new members are Ms Au Chor-kwan, Mr‍ Chu‍ Wing-yiu, Mr Douglas Lam Tak-yip, Miss Sylvia Lee Hiu-wah, Dr‍ David‍ Lee Ka-yan, Ms Melissa Kaye Pang, Ms Shalini Sujanani, Professor‍ Wong‍ Chi-sang and Mr Johnny Yu Wah-yung.

     "We are most grateful for the invaluable contributions of the IPCC in ensuring a fair, effective and transparent two-tier police complaints handling system in Hong Kong. We are also thankful for the contributions and advice by incumbent members who will leave the IPCC by the end of their terms on December 31, 2016. We believe that the IPCC will continue to discharge its statutory functions effectively and uphold the efficient operation of the police complaints handling system," the spokesman said.

     The IPCC, established under the IPCC Ordinance (Cap. 604), is an independent statutory body responsible for monitoring and reviewing the investigation of complaints against members of the Police Force. The IPCC Ordinance provides a statutory basis for the IPCC's role and power and the two-tier police complaints handling system. It also imposes a statutory duty on the Police to comply with the Council's requirements.

     The appointment notice was published in the Government Gazette today.
Ends/Friday, December 23, 2016
Issued at HKT 11:00
Today's Press Releases