Go to main content
Election Committee Subsector Ordinary Elections poll cards sent to voters
     The 2016 Election Committee Subsector Ordinary Elections will be held on December 11 (Sunday). The Registration and Electoral Office (REO) has mailed poll cards to more than 230 000 registered voters in the contested subsectors/sub-subsectors to inform them of where they should cast their votes on polling day.
     "Voters may only cast their votes at the designated polling station as specified on their poll card. Voters can log in to the Online Voter Information Enquiry System (www.voterinfo.gov.hk) if they have not yet received their poll card to check whether they are registered voters and their designated polling station. They can also call the election hotline 2891 1001 for enquiries," a spokesman for the REO said today (December 6).
     In addition to the poll card, the electoral mail sent to voters by the REO also includes a map indicating the location of the designated polling station, a leaflet on the voting procedures, an introduction booklet on candidates in the respective subsector/sub-subsector and a clean elections leaflet.
     A total of 1 239 candidates will contest 733 seats in the following 25 subsectors/sub-subsectors: commercial (first); financial services; hotel; insurance; tourism; transport; wholesale and retail; accountancy; architectural, surveying, planning and landscape; Chinese medicine; education; engineering; health services; higher education; information technology; legal; medical; labour; social welfare; sports, performing arts, culture and publication (performing arts sub-subsector); sports, performing arts, culture and publication (culture sub-subsector); sports, performing arts, culture and publication (publication sub-subsector); Heung Yee Kuk; Hong Kong and Kowloon District Councils; and New Territories District Councils.
     The 60 Election Committee members allocated to the religious subsector have been returned by way of nomination by the six designated bodies of the subsector.
     A total of 300 candidates in 12 subsectors and one sub-subsector have been returned uncontested. The REO has also sent to more than 11 000 registered voters in these uncontested subsectors and the sub-subsector a notice and an introduction booklet on the elected candidates in their respective subsector/sub-subsector.
     A total of 110 ordinary polling stations will open on polling day. All the ordinary polling stations are accessible to voters with mobility difficulty or those who use wheelchairs. The ordinary polling stations and the two dedicated polling stations set up at police stations will be open from 7.30am to 10.30pm. For security reasons, the polling hours of the dedicated polling stations set up at penal institutions will be from 9am to 4pm.
     Information about the elections is available on the election website (www.elections.gov.hk).
Ends/Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Issued at HKT 16:00
Today's Press Releases