Go to main content
Appointments to Social Welfare Advisory Committee announced
     The Government today (November 18) announced the re-appointment of the Chairman and six incumbent members as well as the appointment of five new members to the Social Welfare Advisory Committee (SWAC) for a term of two years with effect from December 1.
     Mr Vincent Lo Wing-sang is re-appointed as the Chairman of the SWAC. He is a lawyer by profession and the Chairman of the Hong Kong Red Cross. He has served as the Chairman of the SWAC since December 1, 2012.
     The six re-appointed members are Dr Crystal Cheng Lai-ling, Dr Roy Chung Chi-ping, Mr Laurence Ho Hoi-ming, Ms Christina Maisenne Lee, Mr Laurence Li Lu-jen and Ms Sania Yau Sau-wai.
     The five new members are Ms Sylvia Chan May-kuen, Dr Gary Cheng Faat-ting, Mr Manohar Thakurdas Chugh, Mr Anthony Kwan Wai-ming and Ms Amarantha Yip Yun-wan.
     Ms Chan is the Principal of Ma On Shan Ling Liang Primary School. She is a member of the Commission on Poverty, the Environmental Campaign Committee, the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council, the Quality Education Fund Steering Committee and the Steering Committee on Strategic Development of Information Technology in Education.
     Dr Gary Cheng is a certified public accountant and the Managing Director of Gary Cheng CPA Limited. He is the first Vice President of the Lions Club of Metropolitan Hong Kong and a member of the Chinese Entrepreneurs Organization.
     Mr Chugh is the Founder and Chairman of Nisha Electronic Industries Limited, as well as Director of the Non-resident Indian Association of Hong Kong. He is a member of the Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce's General Committee.
     Mr Kwan is a solicitor and a committee member of the Chinese General Chamber of Commerce.
     Ms Yip is the Executive Director of the Hong Kong Family Welfare Society. She is a member of the Advisory Committee on Legal Advice for Unrepresented Litigants and the Committee on Child Abuse.
     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, welcomed the appointments and thanked the five outgoing members, Ms Anna May Chan Mei-lan, Mr David Fong Man-hung, Mr Joseph Man Hung-yee, Ms Theresa Tao Chee-ying and Mr Charles Yang Chuen-liang, for their valuable contributions to the SWAC.
     The SWAC reviews social welfare services from time to time and advises the Government on all matters of social welfare policy.
     Following is the membership list of the SWAC with effect from December 1, 2016:
Mr Vincent Lo Wing-sang
Non-official members
Ms Sylvia Chan May-kuen
Dr Gary Cheng Faat-ting
Dr Crystal Cheng Lai-ling
Mr Manohar Thakurdas Chugh
Dr Roy Chung Chi-ping
Mr Laurence Ho Hoi-ming
Mr Ip Wai-ming
Mr Anthony Kwan Wai-ming
Ms Christina Maisenne Lee
Mr Hansen Lee Hong-kong
Mr Edmond Lee Man-bun
Mr Laurence Li Lu-jen
Ms Anthea Lo Wing-sze
Dr Annissa Lui Wai-ling
Mr Daryl Ng Win-kong
Professor Steven Ngai Sek-yum
Ms Cindy Pun Siu-fung
Dr Janice Tsang Wing-hang
Dr Loretta Yam Yin-chun
Ms Sania Yau Sau-wai
Ms Amarantha Yip Yun-wan
Ends/Friday, November 18, 2016
Issued at HKT 11:41
Today's Press Releases