Go to main content
Appointments of members to Advisory Committee on Travel Agents
     The Government announced today (November 18) the appointment of Dr Barry Mak Lui-ming and Mr Jason Wong Chun-tat as new members of the Advisory Committee on Travel Agents (ACTA) to succeed Professor Cathy Hsu Hui-Chun and Mr Michael Wu Siu-ieng, who have been with the ACTA in the past six years. 
     Eight existing members, Mr Conrad Chiu, Mr Buston Chu, Miss Lisa Djeng, Ms Lanny Leung, Ms Elaine Liu, Mr Hazen Tang, Mr Joseph Tung and Ms Gilly Wong, have been re-appointed as members of the ACTA.
     The above appointments take effect on November 19, 2016, for two years.
     "We are thankful for the valuable contribution to the ACTA from Professor Hsu and Mr Wu in the past six years. We also welcome Dr Mak and Mr Wong and look forward to working closely with them and other fellow ACTA members to further promote the service quality of tourism in Hong Kong and the protection of outbound travellers and visitors to Hong Kong," a spokesman for the Commerce and Economic Development Bureau said.

     The ACTA is a statutory body established under section 7 of the Travel Agents Ordinance (TAO). It advises the Government on matters relating to the regulation of travel agents and issues affecting the interests of the travel trade and consumers. Appointments to the ACTA are made by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development under section 7(2) of the TAO, with the delegated authority from the Chief Executive.

     The composition of the ACTA with effect from November 19, 2016, is as follows:

Chairman:     Mr Wilfred Wong Kam-pui

Members:      Mr Conrad Chiu
       Mr Buston Chu Yat-chiu
       Miss Lisa Marie Djeng Kar-yee
       Dr Barry Mak Lui-ming
       Ms Mandy Fung Yuen-han
       Mr Anthony Lau Chun-hon
       Ms Lanny Leung Kong-lan
       Ms Elaine Liu Yuk-ling
       Mr Hazen Tang Tim-wan
       Mr Joseph Tung Yao-chung
       Mr Jason Wong Chun-tat
       Ms Gilly Wong Fung-han
       Commissioner for Tourism or
       Assistant Commissioner for Tourism (1)
       Registrar of Travel Agents
Ends/Friday, November 18, 2016
Issued at HKT 12:00
Today's Press Releases