New Museum Advisory Committee established

     The Home Affairs Bureau announced today (October 20) the establishment of the Museum Advisory Committee (MAC) for the public museums under the management of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD), and the appointments to the first term of the MAC for a period of two years from October 20, 2016, to October 19, 2018.

     The new MAC, to be supported by three standing sub-committees on art, history and science respectively, will succeed the Art Museum Advisory Panel, the History Museum Advisory Panel and the Science Museum Advisory Panel, to continue to advise the LCSD on the strategies for development, promotion and management of the public museums.

     A spokesman for the Home Affairs Bureau said, "In order to better cater for the needs of society and to increase professional and community involvement in the promotion of the museums, it is important to put greater emphasis on developing holistic policies and strategies to tackle the management and operational issues of all public museums at a corporate level. The new MAC will provide overarching and visionary advice on the growing number of issues commonly faced by all public museums. The three sub-committees corresponding to the art, history and science museums will facilitate focused discussions on stream-specific issues for addressing concerns unique to different streams of museums."

     The MAC and its standing sub-committees comprise members of different backgrounds with a great wealth of professional expertise and experience relevant to the work of the museums including professionals, academics, museum experts, collectors, art promoters, entrepreneurs, marketing and public relations experts, and community leaders.

     "We thank all the Chairmen and members of the three Museum Advisory Panels for their invaluable contributions in the past six years, and look forward to their continued support for the development of museum services in Hong Kong in other capacities," said the spokesman.

     The membership list and terms of reference of the MAC are as follows:

Mr Stanley Wong Yuen-fai

Mr Victor Cheng Pat-leung
Ms Anita Fung Yuen-mei
Professor Nancy Ip Yuk-yu
Mrs Christine Ip Yeung See-ming
Mr Lau Kwok-leung
Professor Leung Wing-mo
Mr Vincent Lo Wing-sang
Ms Anthea Lo Wing-sze
Ms Doris Luey Sisi
Professor Eva Man Kit-wah
Professor Ricardo Mak King-sang
Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai
Dr Ng Chun-hung
Professor Ng Tai-kai
Mr David Pong Chun-yee
Ms Clara Shek Ka-lai
Mr Douglas So Cheung-tak
Professor Joseph Ting Sun-pao
Ms Ada Wong Ying-kay
Mr Eric Yim Chi-ming

Terms of Reference

     To advise the Director of Leisure and Cultural Services on a wide range of subject matters concerning the public museums and related offices managed by the LCSD:
  • positioning, image-building and branding;
  • business development strategies including but not limited to acquisition and use of museum collections, organisation of exhibitions and education programmes, identification of research projects, sponsorship and partnership initiatives;
  • marketing and publicity strategies on the promotion of the museums both locally, on the Mainland and overseas;
  • development of community engagement strategies to reach out to a wider community and stakeholders (e.g. local artists, collectors, local and overseas museums, cultural organisations and educational institutions);
  • measures to strengthen the operational efficiency and accountability of public museums; and
  • any other matters as proposed by the LCSD.

     The membership lists and terms of reference of the three standing sub-committees are attached at Annexes 1 to 3.

Ends/Thursday, October 20, 2016
Issued at HKT 17:42