Appointments to Energy Advisory Committee

     The Government today (July 15) announced that Professor Raymond So Wai-man has been re-appointed as Chairman of the Energy Advisory Committee, while 19 people from the community have been appointed as members. The appointments are for a term of two years with effect from July 15, 2016, and will be published in the Gazette on July 22.

     The Secretary for the Environment, Mr Wong Kam-sing, thanked the Chairman and members for their valuable contributions to the work of the Committee. "Under the sterling leadership of Professor So, the Committee has tendered invaluable advice to the Government on important energy-related matters, in particular the review of the future development of the electricity market. Looking ahead, we will continue working with the Committee closely on various energy policy matters, including the post-2018 regulatory arrangements for the electricity market and proposals to promote energy conservation and efficiency in the community," he said.

     Mr Wong also expressed his gratitude to the 10 retiring members, Mr Cary Chan, Mr Thomas Cheng Kin-hon, Professor Daniel Cheng Man-chung, Mr Paul Chong Kin-lit, Mr Jat Sew-tong, Ms Janice Lai Wai-man, Dr Michael Leung Kwok-hi, Mr Kalmond Ma Kai-chi, Ms Yvonne Shing Mo-han and Mr Yu Hon-kwan, for their support and service in the past years, and welcomed six new members to the Committee, namely Mr Wilson Kwong Wing-tsuen, Mr James Lam Yat-fung, Ms Rerina Or Siu-ching, Mr Cliff Tang Wing-chun, Mr Luther Wong Lok-tak and Mr Thomas Jefferson Wu.

     The Committee advises the Government on energy policy, including policy matters concerning energy supply and demand, energy conservation and efficiency, and other related matters.

     The full membership of the Committee is as follows:

* Professor Raymond So Wai-man (Chairman)
* Ms Clara Chan Yuen-shan
* Ms Vena Cheng Wei-yan
* Mr Victor Cheung Chi-kong
* Ms Susanna Chiu Lai-kuen
* Mr Andrew Fung Hau-chung
* Mr Jimmy Kwok Chun-wah
  Mr Wilson Kwong Wing-tsuen
  Mr James Lam Yat-fung
* Mr Christopher Law Kin-chung
* Mr Alfred Lee Tak-kong
* Dr Guy Look
* Dr Luk Bing-lam
* Dr Billy Mak Sui-choi
  Ms Rerina Or Siu-ching
  Mr Cliff Tang Wing-chun
  Mr Luther Wong Lok-tak
* Mr Stanley Wong Yuen-fai
  Mr Thomas Jefferson Wu
* Dr William Yu Yuen-ping
* Permanent Secretary for the Environment/Director of Environmental Protection or representative
* Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services or representative

* serving members

Ends/Friday, July 15, 2016
Issued at HKT 16:30