Appointment of SFC's non-executive directors

     The Financial Secretary, Mr John C Tsang, under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, has re-appointed Ms Teresa Ko Yuk-yin and Dr William Wong Ming-fung as non-executive directors of the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC).  The re-appointments will take effect from August 1, 2016, for a term of two years.

     Ms Ko is the China Chairman of Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer and Dr Wong is a Senior Counsel of Des Voeux Chambers.

     Announcing the appointments today (July 15), a Government spokesman said, "Ms Ko and Dr Wong have provided valuable advice and guidance to the SFC during their tenure. We look forward to their continued support for the work of the SFC."

     The SFC is chaired by Mr Carlson Tong. Other serving non-executive directors are Mr Albert Au Siu-cheung, Professor Leonard Cheng Kwok-hon, Mr Lester Garson Huang, Ms Mary Ma Xuezheng and Dr Kelvin Wong Tin-yau.

Ends/Friday, July 15, 2016
Issued at HKT 17:00