Committee on Prevention of Student Suicides plans to promote mental health of students

     The Committee on Prevention of Student Suicides held its third meeting this afternoon (June 24).

     The working group on schools, one of the five working groups set up by the Committee to enable focused discussions on strategies for preventing student suicides in different areas, met on June 1. Led by its convenors, the Chairperson of the Hong Kong Association of the Heads of Secondary Schools, Ms Lee Suet-ying, and the Chairman of the Subsidized Primary Schools Council, Mr Sin Kim-wai, members explored preventive measures that should be implemented in schools. Recommendations of the working group on schools were reported at the meeting of the Committee today.

     The Chairperson of the Committee, Professor Paul Yip, said, "Members had a thorough discussion on the recommendations put forward by the working group on schools and provided constructive views. They agreed that schools play an important role in prevention of student suicides, and recommended that school-based activities be held under the Joyful@HK Campaign to promote mental health of students in the 2016/17 school year. Other measures discussed include creation of positive learning experience, enhancement of early identification and support of students with mental health needs, facilitation of students' adjustment during school transitions and promotion of the concept of multiple academic and career pathways."

     The Committee will continue to examine the issue of student suicides from different perspectives. An interim report will be submitted to the Secretary for Education in July and the final report together with recommendations will be submitted in late October.

Ends/Friday, June 24, 2016
Issued at HKT 19:00